Central Michigan Wins 2010 Wrestling Championship

Updated 3/9/2010

Final Championship Bracket (see below)

WATCH Video -- Central Michigan Wrestling Coach, Tom Borrelli

WATCH Video--2010 Champion Awards Presentation - Central Michigan

WATCH Video--2010 All-MAC First Team  (More Video Links--see below)

Mount Pleasant, Mich. -- Host Central Michigan won its ninth consecutive MAC Wrestling Championship after 94 team points this weekend at the Rose Center at Central Michigan.  Kent State finished with 73 points for second and Ohio had 62 points for third place.

The Chippewas continued their dominance in wrestling claiming their 12 conference championship in the last 13 years.  Central Michigan's Matt Steintrager (125), Conor Beebe (141), Steve Brown (157), Tyler Grayson (165) and Ben Bennett (174) all won championship bouts in their respective weight classes.

Kent State's second-place finish featured Dan Mitcheff (133), Dustin Kilgore (184) and Brendan Barlow (285) as each won their weight classes.  Buffalo's Desi Green won the 149 weight class and Ohio's Erik Schuth won the 197 weight class.

For the tournament, Kent State's Dan Mitcheff was named the MAC Outstanding Wrestler for the tournament.


Central Michigan, 94 points

Kent State, 73 points

Ohio, 62 points

Buffalo, 60.5 points

Northern Illinois, 24.5 points

Eastern Michigan, 18 points


2010 MAC Championship Winners:

125:  Matt Steintrager-Central Michigan dec. (inj.) over Dan Bishop-Buffalo

131:  Dan Mitcheff-Kent State dec. (8-2) over Scotti Sentes-Central Michigan

141:  Conor Beebe-Central Michigan dec. (6-2) over Pat McLemore-Northern Illinois

149:  Desi Green-Buffalo dec. (3-2) over vs. Seth Morton-Ohio

157:  Steve Brown-Central Michigan dec. (8-5) over Bryan Deutsch-Northern Illinois

165:  Tyler Grayson-Central Michigan dec. (7-2) over John Martin-Canon-Buffalo

174:  Ben Bennett-Central Michigan dec. (15-0) over Keith Witt-Kent State

184:  Dustin Kilgore-Kent State dec. (13-5) over Nick Purdue-Ohio

197:  Erik Schuth-Ohio dec. (2-0) over Jimmy Hamel-Buffalo

285:  Brendan Barlow-Kent State dec. over Jarod Trice-Central Michigan



WATCH Video-MAC 2010 Championship-133 Bout

WATCH Video-MAC 2010 Championship-141 Bout

WATCH Video-MAC 2010 Championship-149 Bout

WATCH Video-MAC 2010 Championship-157 Bout

WATCH Video-MAC 2010 Championship-165 Bout