Brown and Szunko Lead the Women's Basketball Academic All-MAC Team

Updated 4/19/2011
CLEVELAND, OHIO -- The Mid-American Conference announced its 2010-11 Women's Basketball Academic All-MAC team Tuesday, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 11 student athletes were named to the team and 22 were named to honorable mention.

WNIT and MAC Regular Season Champion Toledo placed two student-athletes on the team in Melissa Goodall and Naama Shafir. Shafir was named to the team for the second consecutive season.

MAC Tournament Champion Bowling Green's Maggie Hennegan was named to the team for the second consecutive season and is the only recipient to hold a 4.00 GPA. Hennegan was joined by teammate Lauren Prochaska who was also named to the team for the second consecutive season.

MAC Player/Defensive Player of the Year Kourtney Brown of Buffalo was named to the Academic All-MAC team for the third consecutive season, along with was Central Michigan's Kaihla Szunko. Brown's teammates Ashley Zuber and Jessica Fortman also joined her on the team.

Rounding out this year's honorees are Rachel Tecca of Akron, Emily Maggert of Ball State and Brenna Bankston of Western Michigan.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

2010-11 Women's Basketball Academic All-MAC
Rachel Tecca, Akron
Emily Maggert, Ball State
Maggie Hennegan, Bowling Green #
Lauren Prochaska, Bowling Green #
Kourtney Brown, Buffalo%
Jessica Fortman, Buffalo
Ashley Zuber, Buffalo
Kaihla Szunko, Central Michigan%
Melissa Goodall, Toledo
Naama Shafir, Toledo#
Brenna Bankston, Western Michigan

# 2009-2010 Honoree
% 2008-2009, 2009-2010 Honoree

2010-2011 Women's Basketball Academic Honorable Mention
Taylor Ruper, Akron
Natasha Williams, Akron
Chelsea Albert, Bowling Green
Danielle Havel, Bowling Green
Allison Papenfuss, Bowling Green
Jessica Slagle, Bowling Green
Chrissy Steffen, Bowling Green
Jenn Uhl, Bowling Green
Kelly Zuercher, Bowling Green
Kourtney Brown, Buffalo
Jessica Fortman, Buffalo
Nicki Hopkins, Buffalo
Ashley Zuber, Buffalo
Ellie, Shields, Kent State
Rachael Hencke, Miami
Courtney Osborn, Miami
Bianca Brown, Northern Illinois
Shaakira Haywood, Northern Illinois
Tina Fisher, Ohio
Alesia Howard, Ohio
Symone Lyles, Ohio
Courtney Ingersoll, Toledo
Yolanda Richardson, Toledo
Maria Iaquaniello, Western Michigan