All-MAC Men's Swimming and Diving Team Announced

Updated 2/24/2009
2009 All-MAC Men’s Swimming and Diving Team
The 2009 All-MAC Men’s Swimming and Diving team was announced toady with 30 student-athletes 
MAC Champion Eastern Michigan led the way with eight first-team members and six second team 
members. Buffalo was represented with five first-team selections and two second team honorees.
Miami placed two on the first team and six on the second team.
The 15 first-team honorees represent the first place finishers at last week’s championships held in 
Nashville, and the top individuals in total points. The second team is based on total individual points
recorded at the
INDIVIDUAL AWARD WINNERS (selected by head coaches)

Swimmer of the Year: Derick Roe, Eastern Michigan

Diver of the Year: Chris Heaton, Miami

Diving Coach of the Yea: Kong Rong Li, Miami

Swimming Coach of the Year: Peter Linn, Eastern Michigan, and Andy Bashor, Buffalo

2009 All-MAC Men’s Team
First Team All-MAC (Individual event winners, then points scored at championships)
1. Chris Heaton, Miami (1-meter dive; 3-meter dive)
2. Dan Kish, Eastern Michigan (500 free, 200 free)
3. Don Ellison, Eastern Michigan (200 IM; 400 IM)
4. Derick Roe, Eastern Michigan (50 free; 100 free)
5. Ryan Fulkerson, Eastern Michigan (100 fly; 200 fly)
6. Scott Murphy, Eastern Michigan (200 breaststroke; 100 breaststorke)
7. Jake Sengren, Buffalo (100 backstroke)
8. Connor Vander Zalm, Buffalo (1650 free)
9. Zach Ruske, Buffalo (200 backstroke)
10. Matt Zavislak, Eastern Michigan (56)
11. Troy Esentan, Eastern Michigan (54)
12. Cameron Horner, Miami (53)
13. Jared Heine, Buffalo (52.5)
14. Matt Guinan, Eastern Michigan (51)
15. Mike McDowell, Buffalo (49)
Second Team All-MAC (based on points in individual events only)
16. Jimmy Beres, Miami (47)
17. Mitch Kellerman, Eastern Michigan (47)
18. Adam Wohl, Eastern Michigan (45)
19. Andrew Tamchyna, Buffalo (38)
20. Owen Grey, Eastern Michigan (37)
21. Dave Stefl, Eastern Michigan (34)
22. Ethan Crabtree, Eastern Michigan (33)
23. Scott Woster, Buffalo (33)
24. Chris Alberty, Eastern Michigan (32)
25. Michael Carroll, Miami (32)
26. Chris Gunnels, Miami (30)
27. Nick DuPuis, Miami (27)
28. Darin Smith, Miami (27)
29. Ben Battjes, Ball State (25)
30. Dave Brown, Miami (23)