MAC Men's Swimming and Diving Championships Begin Wednesday

Updated 2/17/2009

Nashville, Tenn. ? The 2009 Mid-American Conference men’s swimming and diving championships begin tomorrow (Feb. 18) at the Nashville Centennial Sportsplex.


The competition will be held in conjunction with the Sun Belt Championships. Events will be staged at the Nashville Centennial Sportsplex and hosted by Western Kentucky University.


Teams competing for the MAC Championship are defending title holder Eastern Michigan, along with Ball State, Buffalo, and Miami. The Sun Belt will be represented by Denver, Evansville, Florida Atlantic, Missouri State, New Orleans, Southern Illinois, and Western Kentucky.


The men’s combined meet will be scored as one meet, but student-athletes and teams from each conference will be recognized separately. The top three (3) finishers from each conference will be awarded medal and the top teams from each conference will be named their respective conference champion.


Defending MAC champion Eastern Michigan is favored to capture its 28th league title since the Eagles first took the trophy in 1978. The Eagles own the top time in MAC competition this year in the 200 free relay, 400 free relay, 800 free relay, 200 medley, and 400 medley.


In addition, EMU competitors have the top time in the 50 free and 100 free from Derick Roe; 200 free, 500 free and 1650 free by Dan Kish; 1000 free by Troy Esentan; 100 breaststroke by Sam Dolato; 200 breaststroke, 200 IM and 400 IM by Don Ellison; and the 100 fly and 200 fly by Ryan Fulkerson.


Top times or marks are held by Buffalo representatives Jake Sangren in the 100 backstroke, Zach Ruske in the 200 backstroke, and Michael McDowell in both the one- and three-meter dives.


CLICK HERE for a link to the championships page.