MAC Announces Men's Tennis Awards

Updated 4/29/2008

CLEVELAND - 2008 Mid-American Conference Men’s Tennis tournament champion Western Michigan placed a league-high four
members to the All-MAC team, the conference office announced today. Voting was conducted by the league’s six head coaches following last weekend’s tournament at Rockford, Ill.

Repeating as all-conference selections from last year for WMU are Kevin Hayward and Alex Birchmeier, while Alejandro Staub and Kazuya Komada are first-time honorees. Hayward was a first-team selection for the second consecutive season.

Ball State had two players named to the All-MAC first-team. Junior Jose Perdomo represented the Cardinals on the first-team for the second straight season and was joined by Newcomer of the Year Eduardo Pavia on the first team.

Northern Illinois also was represented with two first-team selections. Player of the Year Brian Livingston and Jack Vredevelt Sportsmanship Award winner Alex Friesen were Huskies honored this year. Livingston is a repeat first-team honoree while Friesen was a second-team selection in 2007.

Toledo had two second team All-MAC selections with Chris Clark and Jared Miller, both recognized on the all-conference team for the second consecutive year. Buffalo’s Nikesh Singh Panthlia was also named second-team all-conference for the second consecutive year and Chicago State’s Parkoso Imanuel was honored, marking the Cougars initial season as an affiliate member for men’s tennis.

WMU mentor Dave Morin claimed Coach of the Year honors for the third year in a row and for the seventh time in his career.

All-MAC First Team

Jose Perdomo, Ball State

Eduardo Pavia Ball State

Alex Friesen Northern Illinois

Brian Livingston Northern Illinois

Alex Birchmeier Western Michigan

Kevin Hayward Western Michigan


All-MAC Second Team

Nikesh Singh Panthlia Buffalo

Prakoso Imanuel Chicago State

Chris Clark Toledo

Jared Miller Toledo

Kazuya Komada Western Michigan

Alejandro Staub Western Michigan


Individual Award Winners

Player of the Year: Brian Livingston, Northern Illinois

Newcomer of the Year: Eduardo Pavia, Ball State

Sportsmanship Award: Alex Friesen, Northern Illinois

Coach of the Year: Dave Morin, Western Michigan

MAC Tournament MVP: Alejandro Staub, Western Michigan

All-Tournament Team
Alejandro Staub, Western Michigan (Most Outstanding Player)
Michael Calderone, Western Michigan
Eduardo Pavia, Ball State
Shaun Bussert, Ball State
Brian Livingston, Northern Illinois
Jared Miller, Toledo