MAC Announces Indoor Track and Field Academic All-MAC Teams

Updated 4/14/2010
CLEVELAND - A total of 43 student-athletes were named to the 2010 Academic All-MAC Indoor Track and Field men's and women's teams today as voted by the league's faculty athletic representatives.

The total team members reflect the same number of all-conference selections or one-third of the nominees, whichever is greater. For the women's team that translated to 28 selections and the men's team had 15 honorees.

2010 Indoor MAC Champion Kent tops the list on the women's side with five recipients. On the men's side MAC Champion Eastern Michigan leads with four honorees.

On the women's side also with five recipients is Akron, followed closely by Central Michigan with four. Toledo and Western Michigan places three on the list while Miami and Ohio each have two. Rounding out the women's side are Ball State, Buffalo and Northern Illinois with one each.

For the men Akron, Buffalo and Kent State follow closely behind EMU with three honorees each while Central Michigan places two.

To be nominated, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.2 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the ward. Outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments for the current season only are considered.

2010 Women's Indoor Track and Field Academic All-MAC Team
Larisa Arcip, Akron
Carrie Kayes, Akron
Katherine Lee, Akron
Kim Lorentz, Akron
Valerie Wert, Akron
Thekla Lorenz, Ball State
Vanessa Gilbert, Ball State
Tiffany Maskulinski, Buffalo
Raeanne Lohner, Central Michigan
Erika Schroll, Central Michigan
Alexandra Sisson, Central Michigan
Sarah Squires, Central Michigan
Diana Dumitrescu, Kent State
Kelly Gephart, Kent State
Allison Krupko, Kent State
Jessica Lhotsky, Kent State
Alexandra Lizarribar, Kent State
Rachel Patterson, Miami
Nicki Mitchell, Miami
Jenner Sio , Northern Illinois
Sharon Gase, Ohio
Kari Summers, Ohio
Julie Snyder, Toledo
Michelle Sutherland, Toledo
Danielle Thomas, Toledo
Irene Cooper, Western Michigan
Ashley Hunault, Western Michigan
Jennifer Roberts, Western Michigan

2010 Men's Indoor Track and Field Academic All-MAC Team
Joe Mummert, Akron
JT Olson, Akron
Mike Uhle, Akron
Shaun Brummert, Buffalo
Jake Madonia, Buffalo
Brian Smith, Buffalo
Marcus Breidinger, Central Michigan
Matt Lutzke, Central Michigan
Xavier Clais, Eastern Michigan University
Oliver Walther, Eastern Michigan University
Austin Hendrix, Eastern Michigan University
Andrew Meyer, Eastern Michigan University
Andrew Carnes, Kent State
Aaron Crabtree, Kent State
Destin Heasley, Kent State