Kent State Win Second Consecutive Championship

Updated 5/6/2006

Final Stats

Indianapolis-For the second consecutive year, Kent State won the 2006 Men's Golf Championship Saturday afternoon at the Brickyard Crossing. The Golden Flashes' Marc Bourgeois (71-73-70-71) and Tommy Wiegand (73-69-68-75) both tied for first-place honors shooting three-under-par (285) for the tournament. This is the second year in a row that Kent State teammates have shared the individual title. Weigand is the fifth person in Mid-American Conference history to win the individual title back-to-back, since Miami's Sean Gorgone in 1990.

Tournament host Ball Sate finished at 12-over-par overall (290-290-293-291--1164), while senior Brandon Boomsma finished even (72-73-71-72--288). Eastern Michigan carded a third-place finish at 15-over-par (291-294-288-294--1167). Five players finished tied for seventh-place at four-over-par.

Kent State will represent the Mid-American Conference at the NCAA Central Regional May 18-20 at the Sand Ridge Golf Club in Cleveland, Ohio.

Freshman of the Year:
Chris Ross, Eastern Michigan

Golfer of the Year:
Korey Mahoney, Eastern Michigan

Kermit Blosser Coach of the Year:
Herb Page, Kent State

Earl Yestingsmeier Sportsmanship Award:
Jon Johasky, Ohio
(as upon voted by peers)

First-Team All-MAC:
Patrick Wilkes-Krier, Ball State
Korey Mahoney, Eastern Michigan
Ryan Yip, Kent State
Tommy Wiegand, Kent State
Nick Schenk, Northern Illinois
Marc Bourgeois, Kent State

Second-Team All-MAC:
Brandon Boomsma, Ball State
Heath Ziglar, Bowling Green
Graham Hill, Eastern Michigan
Matt Thomas, Miami
Mark Cimarolli, Ohio

All-Tournament Team:
Tommy Wiegand, Kent State
Zach Jecklin, Northern Illinois
Brandon Boomsma, Ball State
CD Hockersmith, Ball State
Marc Bourgeois, Kent State