2007 Men?s Cross Country Academic All-MAC Team Announced

Updated 11/2/2007

CLEVELAND -- The Mid-American Conference announced its 2007 Men’s Cross Country Academic All-MAC team Friday, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 10 student-athletes were named to the team. The number of honorees on the MAC All-Academic Team are the number that is set for the specific sport or 33% of the number of nominees, whichever is greater.


Eastern Michigan and Miami lead this year’s team with three selections each. EMU’s Josh Karanja, David Brent and Wade Wines were all named to this year’s squad after leading the Eagles to their third consecutive MAC cross country championship. Karanja and Brent also picked up 2007 All-MAC first-team honors for their performance at the championship meet. For the RedHawks, 2007 first-team All-MAC honorees Pat Sovacool and Michael Veatch were named to this year’s academic All-MAC squad, while MU’s Paul Krebs also got the nod on this year’s team.


Ohio and Central Michigan each had a pair of selections to this year’s team as first-team All-MAC and 2007 MAC Championship runner-up Craig Leon earned Academic recognition. Brian King also represented the Bobcats on this year’s team. CMU’s Cory Arnold and Andrew Manning rounded out this year’s selections.


The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.