Mid-American Conference All -Academic Men's Tennis Squad Announced

Updated 10/1/1999

Six Mid-American Conference men's tennis student-athletes earned first-team Academic All-MAC selection in voting conducted by Mid-American Conference Faculty Athletic Representatives. Overall, fourteen student athletes earned either first-team or honorable mention on the All-Academic squad.

Conference champion Western Michigan placed three student-athletes on the first team: Jeff Brink, Fernando Garcia, and Kyle Gernhofer. Other first-team honorees are Radu Bartan of Bowling Green and Augusto Cantone and Wolfgang Oswald from Northern Illinois.

Earning honorable mention recognition are: Sonny Huynh and Matt Wiles of Bowling Green; Jake Stricker of Eastern Michigan; Amin Nabli from Miami; Nick Gryfakis of Northern Illinois; and Wassim Eid, Jorge Morales, and Josh Weinstein of Toledo.

Academic All-Mid-American Conference honorees are student-athletes who have excelled in academics and athletics. To qualify a student-athlete must have at least a 3.0 grade point average during his or her college career and be a starter or top reserve during the just-completed season.