KSU's Morrow Named Golfweek National Coach of the Year

Updated 6/26/2001

June 26, 2001

Kent State University women's golf head coach Mike Morrow has been named the National Women's Golf Coach of the Year by Golfweek, the publication announced in its June 18th issue. This is the first national coach-of-the-year honor for a Kent State coach in school history.

In only his third year of coaching and the team's third year of existence, Morrow guided the Golden Flashes to a 15th-place finish at the NCAA Championships in Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla. May 23-26 with three juniors, a sophomore and a freshman. Kent State also won its third straight Mid-American Conference championships by an amazing 49 strokes. The Golden Flashes had their first all-America honor, bestowed to freshman Martina Gillen (Dublin, Ireland/Maryfield College), and had three players named to the All-MAC First Team. As a team, the Golden Flashes finished in the top four in 11 of 14 tournaments played in 2000-01 and ended the season ranked 27th in the Golfweek/Sagarin poll. This year also was the first year Kent State advanced to regional play, where it finished seventh out of 21 teams.

Morrow has been named the MAC Coach of the Year the past three years and was a finalist for the NCGA Coach of the Year this year.

"The women did it all," Morrow said. "They worked hard all year and lived up to high standards. They keep improving and that is really the key. When you believe in yourself and don't put limits on what you can do, you will be successful. I walked into a great situation. Dr. (Carol) Cartwright (KSU President), Laing (Kennedy, KSU Athletic Director) and Herb (Page, Director of Golf at Kent State) have given me the resources to be successful. The rest the women do. My job is to make them better players."

"Mike is a tremendous teacher and communicator which equals being a great coach," Page said. "This is a great honor for Mike and the whole program."

In other awards given out by Golfweek, the University of Arizona's Lorena Ochoa was the Women's Golf Player of the Year, Buddy Alexander of the University of Florida was the Men's Golf Coach of the Year and Bryce Molder of Georgia Institute of Technology was the Men's Golf Player of the Year.