Marshall and Western Michigan Co-Champions of Women's Tennis; Thundering Herd Earns No. 1 Seed

Updated 4/24/2000
In women's tennis, the Mid-American Conference regular season concluded with play on Saturday as the 10 teams warmed up for this week's championships to be hosted by Western Michigan University.

Host WMU and Marshall University earned the co-champion title as both teams compiled 8-1 league marks. The Thundering Herd received the No. 1 seed by virtue of its regular season win against the Broncos. WMU is the defending champion.

The matches will be held at Sorensen Courts on the WMU campus. Should weather force the competition indoors, the West Hills Athletic Club will be utilized.

The complete championship schedule is as follows:

Thursday, April 27
  • Day One Results Friday, April 28 Match 3: Marshall (#1) vs. Match 1 winner, 10 a.m. Match 4: Miami (#4) vs. Eastern Michigan (#5), 10 a.m. Match 5: Bowling Green (#3) vs. Ball State (#6), 1 p.m. Match 6: Western Michigan (#2) vs. Match 2 winner, 1 p.m. Saturday, April 29 Match 7: Winner Match 3 vs. Winner Match 4, 10 a.m. Match 8: Winner Match 5 vs. Winner Match 6, 1 p.m. Sunday, April 30 Championship: Winner Match 7 vs. Winner Match 8, 1 p.m.