Mid-American Conference All -Academic Men's Outdoor Track & Field Team Announced

Updated 6/8/1999

Twenty-two Mid-American Conference men's outdoor track and field student-athletes earned first-team Academic All-MAC selection in voting conducted by Mid-American Conference Faculty Athletic Representatives. Overall, thirty-six student athletes earned either first-team or honorable mention on the All-Academic squad.

Miami tops all schools with ten members on the academic all-conference team, including eight first-team selections: Mike Allicino, Cato Coleman, Craig First, Matt McClure, Pat Morris, Ryan Smith, Fitz Read, and Chris Swank all earned first-team honors.

Conference champion Eastern Michigan placed three student-athletes (Blake McDowell, Rory Sneyd, and Garfield Wright) on the first team and runner-up Central Michigan has two, with Richie Brinker and Courtney Wenzel earning recognition. Ball State (Cody Hogeston and Aaron Shunk), Kent (Nathan Fanger and James Kempfert) and Western Michigan (Mark Ermis and Aaron Larson) also had two first-team honorees.

Bowling Green's John Hustler, Buffalo's Rashidi Greene, and Mark Stevens of Ohio round out the first-team selections.

Earning honorable mention are: Rob Murray, Akron; Dan Flaute, Bowling Green; Jacob Brundage and Jeremy Hurley, Central Michigan; Karoly Bozan and Jon Heflin, Kent; James Kneeland and Jason Redman, Marshall; Brian Fey and Nick Iagulli, Miami; Brock Kreitzburg, Toledo; and Coye Bouyer, Seth Dewberry, and Ralph Neal, Western Michigan.

Academic All-Mid-American Conference honorees are student-athletes who have excelled in academics and athletics. To qualify a student-athlete must have at least a 3.0 grade point average during his or her college career and be a starter or top reserve during the just-completed season.