2002 Tennis Preseason Poll Announced

Updated 2/21/2002

Feb. 21, 2002

February 21, 2002

MAC 2002 Preseason Tennis Poll Favors Ball State (men) and Eastern Michigan and Marshall (women)

Cleveland - In the Mid-American Conference preseason poll, the Ball State University men's tennis team was tabbed to win the season championship, while Eastern Michigan and Marshall women's teams tied for the poll favorite. The poll was conducted among the head coaches of the MAC schools.

For the men, Ball State placed first with 27 points and two of the first-place votes to edge out Bowling Green, which came in a close second with 26 points. Bowling Green had three first-place votes and received three votes to win the championship.

Western Michigan came in third place with 18 points, just beating out Northern Illinois which received 17 points. Toledo, with 11 points, and Buffalo with six points, came in fifth and sixth, respectively, to round out the men.

The men have five 2001 All-MAC first- team members and three second- team members returning this year, including Newcomer of the Year Ravishankar Pathanjali from Western Michigan.

On the women's side, Eastern Michigan and Marshall tied for first place with 75 points and four first-place votes each. However, it was Marshall that received four votes to win the tournament championship, to EMU's one vote.

Coming in third place was Western Michigan with 65 points and two votes for tournament winner. Miami received 56 points, placing fourth, and one vote for tournament winner. Fifth place went to Ball State with 44 points.

Rounding out the women's poll are Northern Illinois (38), Bowling Green (32), Toledo (28), Akron (16), and Buffalo (11) to finish sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, and tenth respectively.

Returning for this season for the women are five members of the 2001 All-MAC first team and three from the second team. This includes 2001 Player of the Year Anna Mitina, Marshall, 2001 Newcomer of the Year Frederika Girsang, Western Michigan and 2001 Leann Grimes Davidge Sportsmanship award winner Simone Duhme, Eastern Michigan.