Ensminger Named 2000-01 Anson Mount Scholar-Athlete Of The Year

Updated 8/9/2000
OXFORD, OHIO - Miami University's Mike Ensminger (Cincinnati, Ohio/Oak Hills HS), the RedHawks' lone returning men's basketball starter, is the recipient of the 2000-01 Anson Mount Scholar-Athlete of the Year, sponsored by Playboy magazine.

Ensminger carries a 3.80 cumulative grade point average in political science (pre-law).

Playboy will donate $5,000 this fall to Miami University's general scholarship fund in Ensminger's name.

Ensminger, who started 22 of 28 games played in 1999-2000, averaged 5.2 points and 6.0 rebounds per game. Known for his outstanding defensive play, rebounding and leadership, he played a key role in Miamis march to the 2000 MAC Tournament title game. In the RedHawks' quarterfinal upset of top-seeded Bowling Green, Ensminger totaled 12 points (5-of-6 field goal shooting) and 7 rebounds in the overtime win.

In a regular-season meeting with Bowling Green, the 2000 MAC regular-season champion, he tallied a career-high 16 points. Ensminger also recorded a pair of double-doubles with 11 points and 10 rebounds vs. Eastern Michigan and 10 points and a career-high 13 rebounds vs. Marshall.

"This is a terrific and well-deserved honor for Mike and Miami University," said RedHawks' head coach Charlie Coles. "Obviously, he is an outstanding student and he has a bright future in front of him.

"It's great to see that he is being recognized, as well, for his basketball ability. Im sure that for most of these awards, the winner probably has a high or double-digit scoring average. But Mike contributes in so many ways -- ways that can't be measured by statistics alone. He is just as worthy as someone who scores 15 to 20 points a game."

This past year, Ensminger was named a GTE academic first-team all-district selection. He also was named to the MACs all-academic team for a third straight year. Ensminger has received Miamis Randy Gunlock Scholar-Athlete Award the past three years.

Ensminger is the third straight Mid-American Conference athlete to earn a Playboy scholar-athlete award. Last year, Marshall's Chad Pennington was the 1999 Anson Mount football recipient, while Northern Illinois' T.J. Lux was the 1999-00 basketball honoree.