EMU Leads After Day One At Men's Swimming Championships

Updated 3/3/2005

March 3, 2005

  • Complete Day One Results

    OXFORD, Ohio - After the first day of competition at the MAC Men's Swimming and Diving Championships on Thursday at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, the Eastern Michigan Eagles lead with a total of 289 points.

    Ohio's foursome of Jan Wuttig, Robert Ihasz, Mike Shelby and Donald Jupp led off the night with a victory in the 200-yard freestyle relay with a time of 1:22.18. It is the first time since 1991 that the Bobcats have been victorious in the event at the Championships.

    Eastern Michigan's Jason Piercey won his second consecutive 500-yard freestyle title with a time of 4:27.71. Following Piercey was teammate Steven Hill who finished second in 4:32.54, while Miami's Scott Robson finished third with a time 4:33.69.

    The Eastern Michigan trio of Dan Wohl, Joe Bublitz and Andrew Ciesielski swept the top three spots in the 200-yard IM event. Wohl repeated his title performance from a year ago in an NCAA B standard time of 1:49.45, while Bublitz took home second in 1:51.25. Ciesielski placed third with a time of 1:52.44.

    Ball State's Kurtis Leer was victorious in the 50-yard freestyle and finished in a time of 20.36. Ohio's Donald Jupp and Jan Wuttig placed second and third, respectively. Jupp finished with a time of 20.59, while Wuttig recorded a finish of 20.65.

    Peter Donohue won the 1-meter diving title for the RedHawks with a six dive score of 290.2. Donohue broke the MAC Championship record in the prelims with a score of 311.92. The mark broke EMU's Andrew Siebenick's score of 300.25 that was set at the 2003 meet.

    Eastern Michigan capped off the night with a win in the 400-yard medley relay. The team of Andrzej Olesinski, John Henikman, Doug Fleming and Keving Joyce took home a first place finish with a time of 3:19.38.

    Miami (240), Ball State (179), Ohio (157) and Buffalo (45) trail the EMU after day one competition.

    The championships resume Friday at Noon with preliminary action, while the finals are slated for 7 p.m.

    For complete and live results visit the Mid-American Conference website (mac-sports.com) or the Miami University Athletics website (muredhawks.com).


    $ - NCAA Championships Automatic-Qualifying Time
    # - NCAA Championships Consideration Time

    200-yard Freestyle Relay:
    Ohio - 1:22.18
    (Jan Wuttig, Robert Ihasz, Mike Shelby and Donald Jupp)

    500-yard Freestyle:
    Jason Piercey, Eastern Michigan, 4:27.71

    200-yard Individual Medley:
    Dan Wohl, Eastern Michigan, 1:49.45#

    50-yard Freestyle:
    Kurtis Leer, Ball State, 20.36

    1-Meter Diving:
    Peter Donohue, Miami, 290.92

    400-Medley Relay:
    Eastern Michigan - 3:19.38
    (Andrzej Olesinski, John Henikman, Doug Fleming and Keving Joyce)

    1. Eastern Michigan - 289
    2. Miami - 240
    3. Ball State - 179
    4. Ohio - 157
    5. Buffalo - 45