MAC Women's Golf Championship To Begin Friday

Updated 4/21/2004

April 21, 2004

Indian Hills, Ohio-- All nine Mid-American Conference women's golf teams are scheduled to arrive at Indian Hills, Ohio, and the course of Walden Ponds Friday (Apr. 23) for the three-day MAC Championship. Five time defending champion Kent State highlights a competitive field that will tee off 8:00 a.m. Saturday's action gets underway at 8:00 a.m. as well, while Sunday's championship round will have a shotgun start at 8:30 a.m.

The Golden Flashes will be led by Gabby Wedding (74.58), and Martina Gillen (74.69), who sit one and two respectively atop the conference stroke leaders list. Gillen is a two time MAC medalist, having won the honors in 2001 and 2002, while Wedding was the 2002 Freshman of the Year. The duo has both fired a low round of 70 round on the year, which ties as the second-lowest round on the year. Also joining Wedding and Gillen, will be sophomore Becky Wood, whose stroke average of 78.00 is seventh best in the conference. Wood has fired the lowest round on the year by a MAC golfer, as she shot a 67 earlier this season. Kent State has all five golfers in the top-20 of the MAC stroke list, and also have three in the top-10.

Toledo is coming off of a third-place finish last year, and has finished in fourth-place or better in all five of the previous championships. The Rockets will be led by a pair of seniors in Sara Boogaard and Breanne Hall. Hall is a two-time second team All-MAC selection, as she was named to the team in 2002 and 2003. Boogaard finished in seventh-place in last year's championship. The duo sit at number four and number five on the MAC stroke list, with Boogaard (77.59) holding a slight lead over Hall (77.74). Helene Thompson, also a senior, joins her teammates, as her average of 78.93 is good enough for ninth on the MAC list. The Rockets are the only other school besides Kent State to have three individuals in the top-10 of the MAC stroke list.

Western Michigan is coming off of a fifth-place finish last year, but enter the tournament as the only other team besides Kent State with five individuals in the top-20 of the MAC stroke list. Leading the way for the Broncos is junior Stephanie Donkin. She has fired a low round of 71 on the year, and sits third on the MAC stroke list, with an average of 77.43. Teammates Jenna Walter and Lindsay Dunigan are both in the top 15, as Walter sits at number 11 with an average of 78.95, and a low round of 73 on the year. Dunigan's average of 80.23 is good enough for 15th, while she has fired a low round of 72 on the season.

Eastern Michigan, last year's runner-up will enter the tournament led by freshman, Kathryn Strawser. She leads the Eagles in stroke average with a stroke average of 80.4 and a low round on the year of 75. Junior Linsday McEwin of Eastern Michigan is tied with Gillen and Wedding with the second-lowest round on the year, as she also fired a 70 earlier this year.

Ball State is the only other team to enter this year's tournament with multiple golfers in the top-20, as sophomores Katie Sunberg (80.37) and Carmen Bodine (80.38) sit in T-17th and T-19th place respectively. Sunberg has fired a low round of 72 on the year, while Bodine's lowest round is a 73. The Cardinals will be participating in their fourth tournament, and are coming off of their best ever finish (7th place).

The Ohio Bobcats finished in fourth-place last year, which snapped a streak of four consecutive second-place finishes. Ohio will be led by junior Cari Mozingo, whose average of 79.58 is one of twelve MAC golfers on the year to be under 80. Her low round on the season is a 73, which came at the Michigan Invitational during which was en route to her second-place finish. Mozingo was named to the All-MAC second team in 2003.

Bowling Green finished last year in sixth-place, which is where the Falcons have finished in every year of the tournament, outside of 2001 when they finished in fifth. Bowling Green enters the tournament behind senior Jenny Schnipke. Schnipke sits at number ten on the MAC stroke list, with an average of 78.94, and on the year has shot a low round of 72.

Marshall is coming off of an eight-place finish in 2003, as last year was the Thundering Herd's first-ever appearance at the MAC Championships. This year, Marshall will be led by freshman Allyson Hatcher, who sits in eight-place on the stroke list. Her average of 78.76 is the best among all MAC freshman. Hatcher has fired a low round of 74 this year.

Northern Illinois will be competing in its fourth MAC Championship. The Huskies are coming off of a ninth-place finish, after which they had earned seventh-place in the previous two years. This will be just the second 54 hole tournament for NIU this spring, as the Huskies will follow the lead of sophomore Jackie Bailey. Bailey is coming off of her best finish on the year, 17th place finish at the Illini Classic, which included consecutive rounds in the 70's.

Throughout the three day championship, visit either or for complete results.