Women's Swimming & Diving Academic All-MAC Team Announced

Updated 3/1/2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

March 1, 2005

CLEVELAND - The Mid-American Conference announced its 2004-05 women's swimming Academic All-MAC team Tuesday, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 27 student-athletes were named to the team. The number of honorees on the MAC All-Academic Team are the number that is set for the specific sport or 33% of the number of nominees, whichever is greater.

2004-05 Swimmer of the Year, Senior Swimmer of the Year and All-MAC First Team selection Jennefer Brankovsky (Buffalo) was selected to her third Academic All-MAC team in as many years. Marshall's Erika Nilsson was also selected to the team for the third year in a row.

MAC Champion Miami had four student-athletes honored, Laura Armbruster, Maggi Bulla, Julie Madden and Michelle Reynolds. Armbruster makes her second appearance on the Academic All-MAC team and was also named to the 2004-05 All-MAC first team.

Bowling Green led all schools with five members, while Akron was represented by four honorees. Erin Dilkes, Jessica Guinness, Kara Ohngren, Dana Schultz and two-time Academic All-MAC honoree Amy Smith represented the Falcons. 2004-05 Co-Diver of the Year and All-MAC first team selection Lindsey Power was joined by Nicole Molitor, Brenda Norris and Megan Walters in representing the Zips. This marks the second consecutive year that Norris and Walters were named to the Academic All-MAC team.

Toledo was also represented by four student-athletes. Katie Childers, Iiris Hilvo, Markenzie Manard and 2003-04 Academic All-MAC selection Emily Markovich represented the Rockets. Markovich was also recognized as a All-MAC first team member this season.

Eastern Michigan had three members on this year's team. Katie Benedict, Sarah Chrzanowksi and Amanda Katz were all selected to the team for the first time this season.

Mary Brinkoetter and Tara Zimmer represented Ball State, while Jackie English and Janet Reynolds joined Brankovsky in representing Buffalo. Ohio's Amanda Smith rounded out this year's team.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.