Miami Claims Fourth Straight Swimming & Diving Title

Updated 2/26/2005

Feb. 26, 2005

  • Complete Results
    ATHENS, Ohio - Miami University claimed it's fourth title in a row and 15th in league history at the 2005 MAC Women's Swimming and Diving Championships at the Ohio Aquatic Center on the campus of Ohio University. The RedHawks finished with 562.5 points, outscoring runner-up Ohio who posted a total score of 507 points.

    The final night of competition started off with the 1650-yard freestyle. Eastern Michigan's Michelle Zambri won the event in an NCAA section B time of 16:52.02, while Ohio's Jessica Waites came in second place after posting a time of 16:58.29. Marshall's Erika Nilsson placed third in the event with a time of 17:01.71.

    Miami's Trisha Lamb posted an NCAA section B qualifying time of 2:01.69 to win the 200-yard backstroke title. It is the second time that Lamb has won the event at the MAC Championships (2003).

    Stephanie Buckner claimed a victory for Bowling Green in the 100-yard freestyle with an NCAA standard B qualifying time of 51.25. The win marks the first time since 1988 that someone from BGSU (Shari Williams) has won the event at the MAC Championships. Toledo's Emily Markovich finished in second place with a time of 51.44, while Ohio's Ilse Peterson posted a time of 51.57 to capture third.

    Jennefer Brankovsky picked up her third first place finish of the Championships after posting an NCAA B standard time of 2:17.26 in the 200-yard breaststroke. Brankovsky picked up Oustanding Senior Swimmer of the Year, MAC Swimmer of the Year and All-MAC first team recognition for her dazzling performance.

    Marshall's Milla Kuurto won the 200-yard butterfly title in a time of 2:01.85, while Akron's Lindsey Power took the 3-meter diving championship in a pool record score of 513.90. Power and Kuurto were both named to the All-MAC first team and Power was also named Co-Diver of the Year.

    Eastern Michigan closed out the 2005 Championships with a victory in the 400-yard Freestyle relay. The team of Amanda Katz, Zsofia Vegh, Kate Benedict and Madeleine Pilchard posted a winning time of 3:27.71.

    All-MAC First Team
    Erika Nilsson, Marshall
    Jennefer Brankovsky, Buffalo
    Emily Markovich, Toledo
    Christin Eberst, Miami
    Milla Kuurto, Marshall
    Madeliene Pilchard, EMU
    Katie Unger, Miami
    Sarah Welter, BSU
    Michelle Zambri, EMU
    Trisha Lamb, Miami
    Stephanie Buckner, BGSU
    Lindsey Power, Akron
    Ilse Petersen, Ohio
    Laura Armbruster, Miami
    Michaela Hahn-Lawson, Ohio

    All-MAC Second Team
    Mary Brinkoetter, BSU
    Maria del Mundo, EMU
    Kristen Bezier, Miami
    Megan Walters, Akron
    Katie Forster, Miami
    Iris Hilvo, Toledo
    Kara Ohngren, BGSU
    Emily Wylam, Ohio
    Caroline Keating, BGSU
    Jessica Waites, Ohio
    Claire Letendre, EMU
    Dana Schutlz, BGSU
    Brittany Sayler, BSU
    Sarah Chrzanowski, EMU
    Gretchen Plamondon, EMU

    Co-Most Outstanding Diver
    Lindsey Power, Akron
    Christin Eberst, Miami

    Diving Coach of the Year
    Chris Medvedeff, Akron

    Most Outstanding Swimmer
    Jennefer Brankovsky, Buffalo

    Swimming Coach of the Year
    Peter Linn, Eastern Michigan

    Senior Swimmer of the Year
    Jennefer Brankovsky, Buffalo

    Final Standings
    1. Miami - 562.5
    2. Ohio - 507
    3. Eastern Michigan - 492
    4. Ball State - 435
    5. Bowling Green - 404.5
    6. Toledo - 368
    7. Marshall - 298
    8. Buffalo - 277
    9. Akron - 250