RedHawks Maintain Lead On Day Two Of MAC Championships

Updated 2/25/2005

Feb. 25, 2005

  • Day Two Results

    ATHENS, Ohio - Miami continues to lead the women's field at the 2005 Mid-American Conference Swimming & Diving Championships after two days of competition at the Aquatic Center on the Ohio University campus.

    In the first event of the night, Ball State's relay team of Sarah Welter, Tara Zimmer, Erin Johnson and Karla Bailey captured the 200-yard medley relay title with a time of 1:45.04. BSU's victory is the first in school history at the MAC Championships and broke Ohio's eight year string of winning the event.

    Buffalo's Jennefer Brankovsky defended her 2004 title in the 400-yard IM by posting an NCAA section B time of 4:22.41. The win marks Brankovsky's second title at this year's MAC Championships (200-yard IM). Miami's Laura Armbruster finished second in the event, also posting a section B qualifying time of 4:22.74. Ohio's Michaela Hahn-Lawson finished third with a time of 4:26.21.

    The 100-yard butterfly title was won by Marshall's Milla Kuurto in an NCAA B standard qualifying time of 54.34. Kuurto broke the meet and pool records earlier in the day at the prelims when she finished in a time of 54.22. It is the second time in as many years that the junior from the Thundering Herd has won the event.

    EMU's Madeleine Pilchard took home the 200-yard freestyle title with an NCAA B standard time of 1:50.40. Isle Peterson placed second for Ohio with a time of 1:51.29, while Marshall's Erika Nilsson finished third in 1:51.67.

    Miami's Katie Unger and Kristen Bezier finished first and second, respectively, in the 100-yard breaststroke. Unger posted a time of 1:04.97, while Bezier finished in 1:05.04. Toledo's Iiris Hilvo took third place honors in 1:05.06.

    Sarah Welter became the first in Ball State history to win the 100-yard backstroke title at the MAC Championships. Welter finished in a time of 57.57, while teammate Brittany Sayler took home second place with a time of 57.68. Trisha Lamb finished in third for Miami with a time of 57.72.

    Ohio capped off the evening by winning the 800-yard freestyle relay. The team of Simone Swanepoel, Becky McGaughey, Michaela Hanh-Lawson and Ilse Peterson finished in a time of 7:31.19. It is the ninth year in a row that the Bobcats have won the event.

    The championships resume Saturday at 11 a.m. with preliminary action, while the finals are slated for 7 p.m.

    For complete results visit the Mid-American Conference website ( or the Ohio University Athletics website (


    $ - NCAA Championships Automatic-Qualifying Time
    # - NCAA Championships Consideration Time

    200-yard Medley Relay:
    Ball State - 1:45.04
    (Sarah Welter, Tara Zimmer, Erin Johnson, Karla Bailey)

    400-yard IM:
    Jennefer Brankovsky, Buffalo, 4:22.41#

    100-yard Butterfly:
    Milla Kurrto, Marshall, 54.34#

    200-yard Freestyle:
    Madeleine Pilchard, Eastern Michigan, 1:50.40#

    100-yard Breaststroke:
    Katie Unger, Miami, 1:04.97

    100-yard Backstroke:
    Sarah Welter, Ball State, 57.57

    800-yard Freestyle Relay:
    Ohio - 7:31.19
    (Simone Swanepoel, Becky McGaughey, Michaela Hanh-Lawson, Ilse Peterson )