Marshall's Pruett Named Mid-American Conference Coach of the Year

Updated 12/2/1999

Huntington W.Va. (Dec. 2) -- For the second year in a row, Marshall University head football coach Bob Pruett was named the Mid-American Conference Coach of the Year at the Vern Smith Banquet on Thursday in Huntington, W.Va.

Pruett led Marshall to an 11-0 record and the championship of the MAC's East Division. His Thundering Herd team will play Western Michigan Friday night in the MAC Championship game. Marshall's current national ranking of #11 is the highest in school history and the highest by a MAC team since 1974.

Marshall has a 47-4 record under Pruett's guidance in four years, including three MAC East Division Championships (1997-98-99), two MAC Championships (1997, 1998), and two appearances in the Motor City Bowl (1997, 1998). The MAC Coach of the Year is selected by the MAC News Media Association. Pruett joins Gary Blackney (Bowling Green 1991-92) and Frank Lauterbur (Toledo 1969-70) as those who have been honored in consecutive years as MAC Coach of the Year.

Past MAC Coaches of the Year
1998	Bob Pruett, Marshall
1997	Gary Pinkel, Toledo
1996	Jim Grobe, Ohio
1995	Gary Pinkel, Toledo
1994	Dick Flynn, Central Michigan
1993	Paul Schudel, Ball State
1992	Gary Blackney, Bowling Green
1991	Gary Blackney, Bowling Green
1990	Herb Deromedi, Central Michigan
1989	Paul Schudel, Ball State
1988	Al Molde, Western Michigan
1987	Jim Harkema, Eastern Michigan
1986	Glen Mason, Kent
1985	Denny Stolz, Bowling Green
1984	Dan Simrell, Toledo
1983	Bill Mallory, Northern Illinois
1982	Denny Stolz, Bowling Green
1981	Chuck Stobart, Toledo
1980	Herb Deromedi, Central Michigan
1979	Chuck Stobart, Toledo
1978	Dwight Wallace, Ball State
1977	Ed Chlebek, Eastern Michigan
1976	Elliot Uzelac, Western Michigan
1975	Dave McClain, Ball State
1974	Dick Crum, Miami
1973	Bill Mallory, Miami
1972	Don James, Kent
1971	Jack Murphy, Toledo
1970	Frank Lauterbur, Toledo
1969	Frank Lauterbur, Toledo
1968	Bill Hess, Ohio
1967	Frank Lauterbur, Toledo
1966	Bill Doolittle, Western Michigan
1965	Bo Schembechler, Miami