Miami University's Dustin Cohen Honored As MAC Defensive Player of the Year

Updated 11/30/1999

CLEVELAND, Ohio (November 30) -- University of Miami linebacker Dustin Cohen, a graduate of Summit Country Day High School in Cincinnati, Ohio, has been honored as the 1999 Pepsi Mid-American Conference Defensive Player of the Year in voting among members of the MAC News Media Association.

Cohen, a senior, led the RedHawks and finished second in the MAC in tackles with 138 in 11 games for an average of 12.5 per game. He tied for fourth in the league in quarterback sacks with nine, tied for fifth in tackles for a loss with 19 and passes defended with 14 (11 pass break ups and three interceptions). Cohen had one interception return for a touchdown, his fourth career scoring play which ties him for the MAC record. Cohen completed his career with 251 solo tackles, 200 assisted tackles, 451 total tackles, 20 quarterback sacks, 51 tackles for a loss (202 yards) and eight interceptions.

Cohen received 29 of the 55 votes with Marshall linebacker John Grace (12 votes) and defensive lineman Girardie Mercer (4 votes) finishing behind Cohen in the voting.

MAC Defensive Player of the Year Winners
1999- Dustin Cohen, Miami
1998- JoJuan Armour, Miami
1997- JoJuan Armour, Miami
1996- Brad Maynard, Ball State
1995-Johnnie Williams, Miami
1994- Vince Palko, Bowling Green
1993- Vince Palko, Bowling Green
1992-Curt McMillian, Miami
1991-Curt McMillian, Miami
1990-Sean Mulhearn, Western Michigan
1989-Greg Garnica, Ball State
1988- Greg Garnica, Ball State
1987- Greg Garnica, Ball State
1986-Mark Garalczyk, Western Michigan
1985-John Offerdahl, Western Michigan
1984-Mark Brandon, Toledo
1983-Brian Pillman, Miami
1982-Ray Bentley, Central Michigan
1981-John Zupancic, Miami
1980-Kent McCormick, Miami and Mike Terra, Northern Illinois
1979-Frank Lewandowski, Northern Illinois
1978-Ken Kremer, Ball State
1977-Jack Glowik, Miami
1976-Aaron Bivins, Toledo
1975-Shafer Suggs, Ball State
1974-Brad Cousino, Miami
1973- Brad Cousino, Miami
1972-Jack Lambert, Kent
1971-Mel Long, Toledo
1970-Dick Adams, Miami and Phil Villapiano, Bowling Green
1969-Joe Green, Bowling Green
1968-Bob Babich, Miami
1967-Tom Beutler, Toledo
1966-Bob Rowe, Western Michigan
1965-Bob Rowe, Western Michigan