All-MAC Team Announced

Updated 3/7/2000
Cleveland, Ohio (Mar. 7) -- The power positions dominated the five first team All-Mid-American Conference membership as three of the league's top four rebounders and both of the league's top scorers are represented on the elite squad as voted on by league coaches. The voting was completed prior to the start of this week's MAC Tournament.

The five are Shaun Stonerook of Ohio, Anthony Stacey of Bowling Green, Tamar Slay of Marshall, T.J. Lux of Northern Illinois and Toledo's Greg Stempin. Stacey and Stempin are first-team repeaters from last year. Lux was a first-team All-MAC selection two years ago before sitting out last season with an injury. Stonerook was a second-team selection last year while Slay is a first-time selection.

Stonerook, a 6-8 senior forward from Westerville, Ohio, leads the league in rebounding with an 11.6 average, nearly three rebounds better than his nearest competitor. He also ranks among the league leaders in scoring (12th/15.7), steals (8th/1.75), assists (6th/4.24), assist-turnover ratio (14th/1.05) and double-doubles (1st/22). Stonerook also had two games this season with at least 20 points and 20 rebounds. Ohio won 20 games for the first time since 1994.

Stacey, a 6-4 senior forward from Elyria, Ohio, led Bowling Green to the regular season MAC title, the first outright championship for the Falcons since 1983. In 28 games, Stacey averaged 17.0 points and 5.9 rebounds per contest. Stacey's 46.1% field goal rate ranks seventh in the MAC and his 77.6% free throw rate ranked fifth. Stacey became BG's all-time scoring leader with 1,927 points while leading the Falcons to 22 wins.

Slay, a 6-9 sophomore guard from Beckley, W.Va., leads the MAC in scoring with a 19.90 average after posting a 6.0 average as a freshman. Slay also ranks first in the league in three-point goals per game with 3.1 and helped Marshall to a 21-win season.

Lux, a 6-9 senior center/forward from Merrillville, Ind., is the only player in the league ranked among the top five in scoring (2nd/19.89), rebounding (2nd/8.9), blocked shots (4th1.36) and double-doubles (2nd/12). Lux appeared in all 28 Huskie games this season after recovering from shin splints that sidelined him for all but five games last year. Lux became NIU's all-time leader in points (1,996) and rebounds (1,100).

Stempin, a 6-8, junior forward-center from Macomb, Mich., helped the Rockets to a MAC best 11-game winning streak that carried the team to a West Division co-championship. Stempin averaged 15.7 points and 8.6 rebounds per game. Toledo went 0-5 in a January streak when Stempin was sidelined with an elbow injury. Upon his return the Rockets embarked on their 11-game success.

The second team squad is comprised mostly of guards. Except for center John Whorton of Kent, the ball handling-based second team consists of Duane Clemens of Ball State, Anthony Taylor of Miami, Jami Bosley of Akron and Kent's Trevor Huffman.

Regular season champion Bowling Green landed two players on the honorable mention All-MAC list in guard Len Matela and forward Dave Esterkamp. The two Falcons were joined by Marshall center J.R. VanHoose, guards Tony Barksdale of Western Michigan, David Webber of Central Michigan, Jimmal Ball of Akron, Justin Hall of Toledo and Rob Mestas of Miami, and forwards Calvin Warner of Eastern Michigan and Sanjay Adell from Ohio.

The league's honors for player of the year, defensive player of the year, freshman of the year and coach of the year will be announced on Thursday.

2000 All Mid-American Conference Team
First Team
Player 		 School.	Pos.	Ht. 	Wt.	Class	Hometown
Shaun Stonerook* Ohio		F	6-8	230	Sr.	Westerville, Ohio
Anthony Stacey#	 Bowling Green	F	6-4	235	Sr.	Elyria, Ohio
Tamar Slay	 Marshall	G	6-9	195	So.	Beckley, W.Va.
T.J. Lux@	 N. Illinois	C/F	6-9	245	Sr.	Merrillville, Ind.
Greg Stempin#	 Toledo		F/C	6-8	202	Jr.	Macomb, Mich.

Second Team	
Player 		School.		Pos.	Ht. 	Wt.	Class	Hometown
John Whorton*	Kent		C	6-8	250	Sr.	Columbus, Ohio
Duane Clemens*	Ball State	G	6-0	170	Sr.	Muncie, Ind.
Anthony Taylor	Miami		G	6-1	194	Sr.	Medford, Mass.
Jami Bosley#	Akron		G	6-1	220	Sr.	Massillon, Ohio
Trevor Huffman	Kent		F/G	6-1	195	So.	Petoskey, Mich.

Honorable Mention	
Player 		School.		Pos.		Ht. 	Wt.	Class	Hometown
J.R. VanHoose&	Marshall	C	6-9	200	So.	Paintsville, Ky.
Tony Barksdale&	W. Michigan	G	6-2	215	Sr.	Topeka, Kan.
David Webber	C. Michigan	G	6-2	180	So.	Farmington Hills, Mich.
Jimmal Ball*	Akron		G	5-10	174	Sr.	Canton, Ohio
Calvin Warner	E. Michigan	F	6-7	230	So.	Detroit, Mich.	
Sanjay Adell&	Ohio		F	6-6	230	Sr.	Milwaukee, Wis.
Justin Hall	Toledo		G	6-3	190	So.	Detroit, Mich.
Dave Esterkamp	Bowling Green	F	6-7	220	Sr.	Cincinnati, Ohio
Rob Mestas&	Miami		G	5-10	186	Sr.	Minneapolis, Minn.
Len Matela	Bowling Green	G	6-9	220	So.	Merrillville, Ind.

# first-team selection from 1999
* second-team 1999 selection
& honorable mention 1999 selection
@ first-team 1998 selection