Weston, Simpson Enshrined In Hall

Updated 6/13/2000
A MAC coach and administrator are now enshrined among the greatest players and coaches in women's basketball's 108-year history as the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame inducted its Class of 2000 June 9-10 in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Marcy Weston, who currently serves as national coordinator of women's basketball officiating for the NCAA, is widely considered one of the leaders in the evolution of NCAA women's basketball. Weston has officiated two NCAA Women's Final Fours, including the first NCAA Women's Final Four in 1982 and again in 1984. She is currently in her tenth year as senior associate athletics director at Central Michigan University, and she chairs the MAC women's basketball committee.

Juliene Brazinski Simpson, Marshall University's head coach, was recognized as a four-time AAU All-American player at John F. Kennedy College. Simpson helped the United States claim the silver medal in basketball at the 1976 Olympics, serving as co-captain of the U.S. squad. She also served as the co-captain of the U.S. team that claimed the gold medal at the 1975 Pan American Games. Her international experience also includes a silver medal from the 1973 World University Games.

According to Women's Basketball Hall of Fame officials, selections were made based on moral character, integrity, sportsmanship, record of performance, ability, national or international recognition, and contributions to the game of women's basketball. Each person was also evaluated on the significance of their accomplishments to women's basketball.

The mission of the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame is to "Honor the past, celebrate the present, and promote the future." The complete list of Class of 2000 Inductees include Alline Banks Sprouse, Mildred Barnes, Breezy Bishop, E.Wayne Cooley, Nancy Dunkle, Fran Garmon, Dorothy Gaters, Sue Gunter, Rita Horky, Betty Jaynes, George Killian, Kim Mulkey-Robertson, Cindy Noble Hauserman, Lorene Ramsey, Patricia (Trish) Roberts, Sue Rojcewicz, Cathy Rush, Juliene Simpson, Boris Stankovic, Olga Sukharnova, Katherine Washington, Dean Weese, Marcy Weston and Kay Yow.

Women's Basketball Hall of Fame
700 Hall of Fame Drive
Knoxville, TN 37915


Memorial Day - Labor Day
Monday - Saturday 9 a.m.- 8 p.m.
Sunday, Noon - 8 p.m.

Labor Day - Memorial Day
Monday - Thursday 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday - Saturday 10 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Sunday, Noon - 6 p.m.

Closed on Christmas Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Easter, with abbreviated hours on some holidays.