Mid-American Conference Women's Soccer All-Conference Teams Announced

Updated 11/5/1999
CLEVELAND (November 5) -- Eastern Michigan University's Sarah Willis, a junior goalkeeper from Milan, Mich., has been named the Mid-American Conference's Player of the Year by a vote of the league's head coaches. Danielle Berkemeier, a freshman forward from Hamilton, Ohio was also honored as the league's Freshman of the Year. In addition to these specialty awards, Scott Hall from Eastern Michigan was named the MAC Coach of theYear.

Eastern Michigan, the regular-season champion and number one seed in the MAC tournament, highlights the list with three first-team selections and three second-team selections. Miami, who finshed tied for second in the conference and has the highest-scoring offense in the MAC, had two players honored on both the first and second teams.

During the regular season, Willis had ten shutouts in 16 matches and led the conference with a 0.47 goals against average. She was also the leader of the top-ranked defense in the conference with an overall goals against average of 0.50.

Berkmeier has been a constant at the top of the MAC offensive statistics all season. She led the top-ranked offense in the conference and finished as the top scorer in the league with 37 points. She also finished tied for first in goals with 13 on the season to go along with her nine assists.

Hall, who is in his first season at Eastern Michigan, led the Eagles to their first-ever MAC championship this season after they were picked to finish third in the pre-season poll. Eastern Michigan finished it's conference schedule with only one loss and only two losses overall.

Joining Willis and Berkmeier on the first team are Paula Listrani and Linnaea Dinallo of Buffalo, Amanda Kulikowsi and Tracy Deeter of Eastern Michigan, Shaedyn Cousino of Miami, Renay DiNicolo of Northern Illinois, Katie Markey of Western Michigan ,Kjersten Kuhlman of Central Michigan and Lori Spitler of Ohio.

The members of the MAC second-team are: Tania Orlow, Kate Lewis and Marie Vandenberg of Eastern Michigan, Elizabeth Pfeffer and Jaime Adams of Buffalo, Lidsay Jayjack of Marsahll, Andrea Cunningham and Tonja Weimer of Miami, Danielle Cournaya of Northern Illinois and Odia Jahurally of Toledo.

Eastern Michigan is hosting the MAC tournament November 5-7 in Ypsilanti, Mich. The semifinal matches begin at noon and 2 p.m. with the championship match on Sunday starting at noon. The winner of the MAC tournament automatically qualifies for the NCAA Tournament.