Ohio Women Claim 2000 MAC Swimming & Diving Championship

Updated 2/27/2000
Athens, Ohio (Feb. 26) -- Ohio University claimed the 2000 Mid-American Conference Women’s Swimming & Diving Championship today after winning five of Saturday’s seven events and completing a sweep of the relay events.

Sophomore Kim van Selm earned Swimmer of the Year honors after claiming three individual championships and competing on four of Ohio's five championship relay teams. Head coach Greg Werner garnered his first MAC Coach of the Year honor as the Bobcats won their eight MAC crown and their first title since 1995. Senior Joanne Park was voted Senior of the Year after also winning three individual and four relay events.

Miami's Todd Spohn was named Diving Coach of the Year after Redhawk junior Cassie Eakins won both the one-meter and three-meter diving events.

The Ohio Bobcats, who led throughout the three-day event, finished with 816 points, followed by Miami’s 733.50 points. Eastern Michigan was third (476), while Ball State was fourth (368) and Toledo was fifth (317). Buffalo finished sixth (285), followed by Bowling Green (266.50), Northern Illinois (204) and Akron (129).

Event Winners for 2/26/00



Time/Records or Qualifier

1650 Free

Kim van Selm, Ohio

16:36.68 (MAC Meet/NCAA Qual.)

200 Back

Emily Breeser, Ohio

2:01.68 (NCAA Qual.)

100 Free

Joanne Park, Ohio

50.85 (NCAA Qual.)

200 Breast

Hollie Bonewit, Ohio

2:14.19 (MAC Meet/NCAA Qual.)

200 Fly

Erinn Hitch, Ball State

2:01.50 (Pool/NCAA Qual.)

3m Dive

Cassie Eakins, Miami


400 Free Relay

Ohio (Park, van Selm, Bonewit, Bresser)

3:23.36 (MAC Meet/NCAA Qual.)


Final Team Results






Eastern Michigan


Ball State






Bowling Green


Northern Illinois




2000 Mid-American Conference Swimming & Diving Awards

Swimmer of the Year: Kim van Selm, Ohio

Swimming Coach of the Year: Greg Werner, Ohio

Diving Coach of the Year: Todd Spohn. Miami

Senior of the Year: Joanne Park, Ohio


First-Team All-MAC

Kim van Selm, Ohio

Inger Rooneem, Buffalo

Joanne Park, Ohio

Hollie Bonewit, Ohio

Emily Bresser, Ohio

Amanda Furlano, Miami

Erinn Hitch, Ball State

Cassie Eakins, Miami

Althea Lim, Eastern Michigan

Emily Nayes, Miami

Sheonan Lottering, Toledo

Nancy Simpson, Bowling Green

Trisha Kessler, Ohio

Sarah Conger, Eastern Michigan

Claire Madonia, Ohio


Second-Team All-MAC

Katherine Sheridan, Miami

Kelly Janura, Miami

Shannon Orcutt, Ohio

Janene Heaton, Ball State

Sandra Hlavacova, Eastern Michigan

Suzy Riley, Miami

Rachel Banks, Ohio

Colleen Rambasek, Miami