MAC Announces 2004-05 Women's Golf Academic All-MAC Team

Updated 4/27/2005

April 27, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Cleveland, Ohio -- The Mid-American Conference announced its 2004-05 women's golf Academic All-MAC team Wednesday, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 11 student-athletes were named to the team. The number of honorees on the MAC All-Academic Team are the number that is set for the specific sport or 33% of the number of nominees, whichever is greater.

Western Michigan led the team with the most student-athletes honored with three. Stephanie Donkin, Erin Thorne and Jenna Walter all represented the Broncos. This is the second consecutive year that Donkin has been named to the team, while Thorne and Walter were selected to the All-MAC second team this season.

Ball State's Carmen Bodine and MAC medalist Katie Sundberg were both selected to the All-Academic team for the first time in their careers. Sundberg was also named to the All-MAC first team after firing a two-round score of 149 at the MAC Championship.

MAC Golfer Of The Year Gabby Wedding was named to the Academic All-MAC team for the third straight year. Teammate Becky Wood also represented the Golden Flashes on this year's squad. Wedding and Wood were also recognized as All-MAC first team selections.

Amber Churchill and Allyson Hatcher represented Marshall and were named to the Academic All-MAC team for the first time in their careers. Churchill was also selected to the All-MAC first team.

Rounding out this year's team was Northern Illinois' Jackie Bailey and Ohio's Sara Ann Palmer. Bailey and Palmer are making their first appearance on the Academic All-MAC team.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.