KSU Women's Golf Team Earns 15th Seed For NCAA Central Regional

Updated 4/27/2005

April 27, 2005

Note: Story courtesy of the Kent State sports information department

KENT, Ohio -- The Kent State University women's golf team will travel to Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas for the NCAA Central Regional, May 7-9. Kent State is one of 21 teams in the regional, with the top eight teams and two individuals advancing to the NCAA Championship May 17-20 in Sunriver, Ore.

The Golden Flashes are the 15th seed in the 21-team field. The teams, in order of seeds, are as follows: Auburn, Arizona State, New Mexico, Louisiana State, Wake Forest, Texas, Missouri, Arkansas, Michigan, Tulsa, Texas Christian, Southern Methodist, Purdue, Michigan State, Kent State, Baylor, Texas A&M, South Florida, Texas Tech, Notre Dame and Long Island.

The field features 18 teams ranked in the top-50, including seven ranked in the top-20.

Kent State is making its fifth-consecutive NCAA Championship appearance and fifth overall in the seven-year history of the women's golf program. Two years ago the Golden Flashes finished second in the NCAA Central Regional behind California at Firethorn in Lincoln, Neb. Kent State has advanced to the NCAA Championships twice, in 2003 and in 2001 when the Flashes placed seventh at the Central Regional and went on to claim a program-best finish of 15th at the NCAA Championship.

The Golden Flashes won their seventh straight Mid-American Conference championship this past weekend, taking a 13-shot victory over Ohio at Walden Ponds in Hamilton, Ohio, earning the automatic bid to the NCAA Championships. Senior Gabby Wedding (Wilmington, Ohio/Wilmington) earned MAC Golfer of the Year honors for the second-consecutive year, Mike Morrow received his sixth MAC Coach of the Year award and freshman Tara Delaney (Carlow, Ireland) took home MAC Freshman of the Year honors. Joining Wedding and Delaney on the 2005 All-MAC First Team was Becky Wood (Jr., Glossop, England) while freshman Kira Meixner (Richmond, British Columbia) was named to the second team.

2005 NCAA Central Regional Teams:
1. Auburn
2. Arizona State
3. New Mexico
4. LSU
5. Wake Forest
6. Texas
7. Missouri
8. Arkansas
9. Michigan
10. Tulsa
11. TCU
12. Southern Methodist
13. Purdue
14. Michigan State
15. Kent State
16. Baylor
17. Texas A& M
18. South Florida
19. Texas Tech
20. Notre Dame
21. Long Island