Kent State Wins MAC Gymnastics Title

Updated 3/25/2005

March 25, 2005

  • Final Results

    DeKALB, Ill. - Kent State University claimed the 2005 Mid-American Conference Gymnastics Championship title Friday night at the Convocation Center on the campus of Northern Illinois University.

    The Golden Flashes posted a 195.000 to lead the competition. Central Michigan 2005 regular-season champions finished second with 194.650 and Northern Illinois finished third (193.050). Fourth-place honors went to Bowling Green (192.875), while Ball State took fifth (192.850). Eastern Michigan (192.400) and Western Michigan (190.525) round out the competition sixth and seventh, respectively. Ball State's Jessica Surridge claimed the vault title, posting a 9.775. Carrie Mayle of Kent State and Courtney Lesson from Western Michigan tied for second place with a 9.750. Tying for first on the parallel bars with a 9.875 was NIU's Ashlee Williams and CMU's Sara Burtinsky. CMU's Sheena Smith was third with a score of 9.850.

    KSU's MAC Specialist of the Year Erika Linnersten won the balance beam event (9.875), while teammate April Zentko took second (9.850). Tying for second with Zentko was BSU's Quiana Williams and EMU's Rebecca Fuss. On the floor exercise KSU's freshman Phylicia Robertson took first-place with a score of 9.900. CMU's Burtinsky was second (9.825). Their was a three-way tie for third all gymnast scored a 9.800 CMU's Rhiannon Banda-Scott and KSU's Amy Cucinnota and Mayle.

    CMU's 2005 Senior Gymnast of the Year Sara Burtinsky took the all-around honors with a score of 39.250. Mayle of KSU was second with a 38.825. NIU's Kristina Campos rounded out the medals with third-place scoring a 38.800.

    Final Standings
    1. Kent State, 195.000
    2. Central Michigan, 194.650
    3. Northern Illinois, 193.050
    4. Bowling Green, 192.875
    5. Ball State, 192.850
    6. Eastern Michigan, 192.400
    7. Western Michigan, 190.525

    All-MAC First Team Jessica Surridge, BSU Ashlee Williams, NIU Erika Linnersten, KSU Phylicia Robertson, KSU Sara Burtinsky, CMU

    All-MAC Second Team Carrie Mayle, BSU Kristina Campos, NIU Breanne Metzger, BGSU Cherisse Marier, WMU Kelli Davis, BSU