MAC Names Academic Men's Swimming & Diving Team

Updated 3/23/2005

March 23, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

CLEVELAND - The Mid-American Conference announced its 2004-05 men's swimming Academic All-MAC team Wednesday, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 17 student-athletes were named to the team. The number of honorees on the MAC All-Academic Team are the number that is set for the specific sport or 33% of the number of nominees, whichever is greater.

2004-05 Most Outstanding Swimmer and All-MAC first team selection Dan Wohl (Eastern Michigan) was selected to the Academic All-MAC team for the first time in his career. EMU's Doug Fleming was selected to the team for the third year in a row, while teammate Ondrej Pekarovic made his second appearance on the All-Academic squad. Fleming and Pekarovic were also honored as All-MAC first team selections this season.

Ball State led all schools with five members on the All-Academic team. Joshua Schum and Kurtis Leer were selected to the team for the second time in as many years, while Ryan Plantz was recognized for his success in the classroom and in the pool for the third year in a row. BSU's Ritchie Caudill and James Lullo represented the Cardinals for the first time in their careers.

Ohio had three members on this year's team. All-MAC first team selection Mike Shelby was joined by teammates Matthew Bey and Jamie Suter. Suter and Bey are making their second consecutive appearance on the squad.

Buffalo was represented by four student-athletes. Luke Adams, Jeff Hurst and 2003-04 Academic All-MAC selections Mark Sy and Geoff Wells represented the Bulls. Eric Teske and Zach Niehaus represented Miami and rounded out this year's team.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.