Miami Women, Eastern Michigan Men Picked To Win MAC Swimming And Diving Titles

Updated 10/22/2004

Oct. 22, 2004

Fourteen-time Mid-American Conference women's swimming and diving champion Miami and 24-time men's champion Eastern Michigan have been selected by the league's coaches to defend their 2003-04 titles in the upcoming season, the conference office announced Friday. Preseason voting includes the top six teams.

On the women's side, the RedHakws return 2003-04 All-MAC first-team selections Laura Armbuster, Maggi Bulla and Ashley Seymour. Armbuster won the 100 breaststroke and finished second in the 400 individual medley at the Mid-American Conference meet last season. The RedHawks will also welcome back All-MAC second-team selections in Katie Forster, Trisha Lamb and Katie Unger.

The coaches selected Ohio to finish second after the Bobcats posted a second place finish at last year's MAC Championship meet. Ohio will welcome back 12 letterwinners, including 2003-04 All-MAC first-team selection Becky McGaughty. All-MAC second-team selections Melissa Dunn and Amanda Smith will also be returning for head coach Greg Werner and will be looked upon after losing four All-MAC first team selections from last season.

Picked to finish third is Bowling Green. The Falcons placed third at last year's MAC Championship and will have 13 letterwinners returning in 2004-05. Third-year head coach Keri Buff will look to captains Carly Cusack, Erin Dilkes and Amy Smith to provide leadership to nine newcomers. Akron was picked to finish fourth by coaches after posting a 16-6 record last season and finishing third at the MAC Championship meet. A total of 24-letterwinners return for head coach Brian Vereb, including first-team 2003-04 All-MAC selections Danielle Beland and Megan Walters. Second team All-MAC selection Brenda Norris will also return to the Zips for the 2004-05 season.

Ball State was slated to finish fifth this season after a fourth place finish at the conference meet last season under 2003-04 coach of the year Laura Seibold-Caudill. Buffalo was picked to finish sixth and returns in 2004-05 with 21 letterwinners. Three-time All-MAC first team selection and 2003 MAC Swimmer of the Year Jennefer Brankovsky will be back for head coach Dorsi Raynolds and the Bulls.

On the men's side, Eastern Michigan will be the team to beat once again, according to the league's coaches. The Eagles return eight first-team choices including 2004-04 Co-Outstanding swimmer of the year Dan Wohl. Doug Fleming, John Henikman, Jason Piercey, Steven Hill, Joe Bublitz, Matt Conger and Ondrej Pekarovic will be joined by All-MAC second-team selection Andrew Ciesielski.

Miami is picked to finish second after placing second at the conference championship meet last season. A total of 18 letterwinners will be back for head coach Pete Lindsay including 2003-04 All-MAC first-team selection Peter Donohue, who won the Mid-American Conference one-meter diving title. Joining Donohue will be All-MAC first team selections Jason Krasula, Paul Ricard and Scott Robson.

Coaches picked Ball State to finish third in 2004-05 after turning in a third place finish at the MAC Championships last season. 2003-04 Men's Swimming Coach of the Year Greg Wener will have All-MAC second team selections back in Matthew Bey and Mike Shelby. Buffalo rounds out the conference after placing fourth at the conference meet last year.

MAC swimming and diving will be in action this weekend with Toledo, Marshall and Ball State hosting events on Friday and Buffalo traveling to Siena on Saturday.