EMU Wins Sixth Consecutive Men's Swimming & Diving Title

Updated 3/5/2005
  • Final Results

    March 5, 2005

    Oxford, Ohio - Eastern Michigan claimed it's sixth consecutive MAC team title and it's 24th in the past 27 seasons at the 2005 MAC Men's Swimming and Diving Championships at the Nixon Aquatic Center on the campus of Miami University. The Eagles finished with 1008 points, outscoring runner-up Miami who posted a total score of 768 points.

    The final night of competition started off the 1650-yard freestyle. Eastern Michigan's Steven Hill won the event in an NCAA B standard time of 15:29.00, while teammate Jason Piercey came in second place after posting a time of 15:36.92. EMU rounded out the top three spots with Steve Bowling finishing in third with a time of 15:54.17.

    EMU's Doug Fleming claimed his second title of the 2005 Championships by posting a time of 1:47.52 to win the 200-yard backstroke. Fleming also took a first place finish in the 100-yard backstroke on day two of competition.

    Kurtis Leer claimed his third title at this year's Championships with a victory in the 100-yard freestyle. Leer finished the event in an NCAA B standard time of 44.75. The Ball State junior has also taken home titles in the 50-yard freestyle and 200-yard freestyle events.

    Eastern Michigan's John Henikman posted a time of 2:02.10 to win the 200-yard breaststroke title. Miami's Griff Marshall finished second in a time of 2:03.00, while EMU's Ondrej Pekarovic recorded a third place finish in 2:04.06.

    EMU's Dan Wohl claimed first place in the 200-yard butterfly with an NCAA B standard time of 1:47.61. The victory marked Wohl's third individual title of the 2005 Championships (200-yard IM, 400-yard IM) and fourth overall (800-yard freestyle relay). For his performance, Wohl was selected as MAC Swimmer of the Year.

    Miami's Peter Donohue took home first place in the 3-meter diving competition with a score of 482.64. Donohue was selected for MAC Diver of the Year after winning both the 1-meter and 3-meter diving events at this year's Championships.

    Eastern Michigan closed out the 2005 Championships with a victory in the 400-yard freestyle relay. The team of Kevin Joyce, Preston Revere, Dan Wohl and Doug Fleming recorded a time of 3:01.33 to win the event.

    All-MAC First Team
    Dan Wohl, Eastern Michigan
    Kurtis Leer, Ball State
    Doug Fleming, Eastern Michigan
    Jason Piercey, Eastern Michigan
    Steven Hill, Eastern Michigan
    Mike Shelby, Ohio
    John Henikman, Eastern Michigan
    Peter Donohue, Miami
    Scott Robson, Miami
    Kevin Joyce, Eastern Michigan
    Joe Bublitz, Eastern Michigan
    Andrzej Olesinski, Eastern Michigan
    Matt Conger, Eastern Michigan
    Andrew Ciesielski, Eastern Michigan
    Preston Revere, Eastern Michigan
    Ondrej Pekarovic, Eastern Michigan

    All-MAC Second Team
    Steve Bowling, Eastern Michigan
    Pat Carroll, Miami
    Alex Schulz, Eastern Michigan
    Justin Marcy, Miami
    Griffin Marshall, Miami
    Eric Stanczyk, Eastern Michigan
    Andrew O'Neill, Miami
    Adam Konopka, Ball State
    Andrew Amyot, Miami
    Donald Jupp, Ohio
    Josh Schum, Ball State
    Zach Hall, Ball State
    Jason Krasula, Miami
    Mike Donohoe, Miami
    Brian O'Rourke, Miami
    Brad Grieshop, Eastern Michigan

    Most Outstanding Diver
    Peter Donohue, Miami

    Diving Coach of the Year
    Todd Spohn, Miami

    Most Outstanding Swimmer
    Dan Wohl, Eastern Michigan

    Swimming Coach of the Year
    Peter Lindsay, Miami

    Senior Swimmer of the Year
    Doug Fleming, Eastern Michigan

    1. Eastern Michigan - 1008
    2. Miami - 768
    3. Ball State - 571
    4. Ohio - 465
    5. Buffalo - 263