Men's Swimming and Diving MAC Championships Begin Thursday, Women's Teams Prepare for Postseason

Updated 3/2/2004

March 2, 2004

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Men's Swimming and Diving MAC Championships
March 4-6 * Eastern Michigan University * Ypsilanti, Mich.

Host Eastern Michigan will attempt to capture its league-record 24th swimming and diving conference championship and fifth in a row ... EMU was tabbed the preseason favorite to take the title by the league's coaches ... Ohio's Robert Krichbaum, a 2003 All-MAC honoree, has already posted several NCAA B diving scores this season ... Other 2003 All-MAC selections returning to the MAC Championships are EMU's John Bartlet and Doug Fleming and Buffalo's Aviv Oren ... Two-time MAC Swimmer of the Week Kurtis Leer hopes to lead Ball State to its first men's title ... Buffalo is also looking for its first MAC title ... Miami's men's team will look to complete the swimming and diving sweep as the RedHawks' women's team took the women's title Feb. 28 ... The last time one school took both of the team conference titles was 1999 when Miami won both competitions ... The MAC Championships begin at noon on Thursday, March 6.

Women's Swimming and Diving MAC Championships Wrap-Up
February 26-28 * Miami University * Oxford, Ohio

All-MAC First Team
Danielle Beland, Akron
Megan Walters, Akron
Sarah Agnew, Bowling Green
Jennefer Brankovsky, Buffalo
Anca Tilea, Eastern Michigan
Milla Kuurto, Marshall
Laura Armbruster, Miami
Maggi Bulla, Miami
Amy Miranda, Miami
Ashley Seymour, Miami
Courtney Gould, Ohio
Shannon Kelly, Ohio
Becky McGaughey, Ohio
Samantha Pfaller, Ohio
Heather Rennebohm, Ohio

All-MAC Second Team
Brenda Norris, Akron
Emily Aubie, Ball State
Kait Martin, Ball State
Erika Nilsson, Marshall
Katie Forster, Miami
Trisha Lamb, Miami
Katie Unger, Miami
Melissa Dunn, Ohio
Amanda Smith, Ohio

Most Outstanding Diver
Anca Tilea, Eastern Michigan

Diving Coach of the Year
Buck Smith, Eastern Michigan

Most Outstanding Swimmer
Milla Kuurto, Marshall

Swimming Coach of the Year
Laura Seibold-Caudill, Ball State

Senior Swimmer of the Year
Shannon Kelly, Ohio

NCAA B Cuts - Set at MAC Championship Meet
500 Free: Amy Miranda, MIA (4:51.35)
500 Free: Katie Unger, MIA (4:51.55)
200 IM: Shannon Kelly, OU (2:02.38)
200 IM: Jennefer Brankovsky, UB (2:02.64)
200 IM: Laura Armbruster, MIA (2:04.03)
400 IM: Jennefer Brankovksy, UB (4:19.86)
400 IM: Laura Armbruster, MIA (4:23.00)
100 Fly: Milla Kuurto, MAR (54.21)
1650 Free: Amy Miranda, MIA (16:38.19)
1650 Free: Heather Rennebohm, OU (16:45.71)
200 Fly: Milla Kuurto, MAR (2:00.36)
200 Fly: Danielle Beland, UA (2:00.42)

MAC Records
Marshall's Milla Kuurto not only topped the MAC Championship record time of 55.19 in Friday's preliminary 100 butterfly heat when she tabbed a 54.83, she bettered that and her own MAC record (54.54, set 12/14/03) in the final heat Friday night. Kuurto posted a 100 fly time of 54.21 in the finals. Both her preliminary and final times were NCAA B times.

2003-04 MAC Women's Swimmers of the Week
Week 1 Erika Nilsson, MAR
Week 2 Danielle Beland, UA
Week 3 Shannon Kelly, Ohio
Week 4 Shannon Kelly, Ohio
Week 5 Kait Martin, BSU
Week 6 Karla Bailey, BSU
Week 7 Milla Kuurto, MAR
Week 8 Shannon Kelly, Ohio
Week 9 Anca Tilea, EMU
Week 10 Kate Martin, BSU
Week 11 Shannon Kelly, Ohio
Week 12 Michelle Zambri, EMU
Week 13 Katie Forster, MIA
Week 14 Jennefer Brankovsky, UB
Week 15 Ellen Koch, MIA

2003-04 MAC Men's Swimmers of the Week
Week 1 None
Week 2 Kurtis Leer, BSU
Week 3 Andrew Keefe, MIA
Week 4 Peter Donohue, MIA
Week 5 Kurtis Leer, BSU
Week 6 Paul Ricard, MIA
Week 7 Doug Fleming, EMU
Week 8 Eric Flecher, Ohio
Week 9 Mark Sy, UB
Week 10 Robert Krichbaum, Ohio
Week 11 Jason Piercey, EMU
Week 12 Scott Robson, MIA
Week 13 David Ruch, EMU
Week 14 None
Week 15 Kyle Melling, MIA