MAC Announces Men's and Women's Track and Field All-MAC Teams

Updated 5/27/2008

Bowling Green, Ohio - The University of Akron track and field program made history as both the men’s and women’s teams were Mid-American Conference Champions.

Akron won the Championship with 208.5 points. They were followed by Western Michigan (153), Miami (73.5), Kent State (73), Central Michigan (64), Buffalo (50.5), Ohio (43), Toledo (35.5), Eastern Michigan (35), Ball State (35), Bowling Green (29) and Northern Illinois (18).

Akron won the men's championship by the slimmest of margins, capturing the event with 183 points. Eastern Michigan finished second with 182 points and were followed by Kent State (153), Miami (129.5), Central Michigan (85.5) and Buffalo (79).

Women's Results

1.  Akron                                 208.5

2.  Western Michigan                153

3.  Miami                                 73.5

4.  Kent State                          73

5.  Central Michigan                 64

6.  Buffalo                               50.5

7.  Ohio                                   43

8.  Toledo                               35.5

9.  Eastern Michigan                 35

9.  Ball State                            35

11. Bowling Green                    29

12. Northern Illinois  18

Men's Results

1. Akron                                  183

2. Eastern Michigan                  182

3. Kent State                           153

4. Miami                                  129.5

5. Central Michigan                  85.5

6. Buffalo                                79

Award Winners


* Most Valuable Performer: Eric Alejandro, Eastern Michigan

* Most Outstanding Track Performance: Clint Allen, Eastern Michigan

* Most Outstanding Field Performance: Cadeau Kelley, Akron

* Coach of the Year: Dennis Mitchell, Akron

* 2008 Outdoor Track & Field Champions: The University of Akron


* Most Valuable Performer: Joy Eloms, Western Michigan

* Most Outstanding Track Performance: Becky Horn, Western Michigan

* Most Outstanding Field Performance: Stevi Large, Akron

* Coach of the Year: Dennis Mitchell, Akron

* 2008 Outdoor Track & Field Champions: The University of Akron

All-MAC First Team Women’s Track and Field

Larisa Arcip, Akron

Carol Eckerly, Akron

Brittany Hocker, Akron

Stevi Large, Akron

Kim Lorentz, Akron

Jessica Miller-Hafenr, Akron

Cassie Schenck, Akron

Amand Barnhart, Ball State

Katie Johnson, Ball State

Partice Coney, Buffalo

Vanessa Roelofsen, Buffalo

Nia Henderson, Kent State

Kristina Bolterstein, Miami

Joy Eloms, Western Michigan

Becky Horn, Western Michigan

Danielle Brown, Western Michigan


All-MAC Second Team Women’s Track and Field

Niesha Kelly, Akron                          

Jen Osborn, Akron

Valerie Wert, Akron

Whitney Hartman, Bowling Green

Aleisha Leeper, Central Michigan

Kelly McClure, Central Michigan

Janice Keppler, Eastern Michigan

Bahiyjaui Allen, Kent State

Jessica Lhotsky, Kent State

Bekah Stoltz, Kent State

Katelyn Kelly, Miami

Amanda Mirochna, Miami

Laura Neufarth, Miami

Danielle Brown, Western Michigan

Jennifer Sabra, Western Michigan


All-MAC First Team Men’s Track and Field

Aaron Dobson, Akron

Cadeau Kelly, Akron

Tyler Sweet, Akron

Michael Uhle, Akron

Abe Mach, Central Michigan

Clint Allen, Eastern Michigan

Eric Alejandro, Eastern Michigan

Nate Blackwell, Eastern Michigan

Josh Perrin, Eastern Michigan

Josh Harper, Kent State

Shamel Smith, Kent State

Jaroslaw Zakzweski, Kent State

Evan Whiting, Kent State

Kevin Dwyer, Miami

Pat Stovacool, Miami

Michael Veatch, Miami


All-MAC Second Team Men’s Track and Field

Ryan Jones, Akron

K.C. Lacross, Akron

Weston Loft, Akron

Anthony Thomas, Akron

Auston Papy, Akron

Ezekiel Porter, Buffalo

Jacob Korir, Central Michigan

Oz Lifshitz, Central Michigan

David Brent, Eastern Michigan

Gerald Gersham, Eastern Michigan

Josh Karanja, Eastern Michigan

Oliver Walther, Eastern Michigan

Nick Irancic, Kent State

Erik Lindhal, Kent State

Tony Jordanek, Kent State