Kent State Captures Eight Consecutive MAC Women's Golf Championship

Updated 4/30/2006

April 30, 2006

Complete Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

INDIAN SPRINGS, Ohio - The 2006 MAC Women's Golf Championship wrapped up on Sunday with Kent State walking away with its eighth consecutive conference title. The Golden Flashes finished with a team total of 1116 and were paced by 2006 MAC Golfer of the Year Tara Delaney, who took home the top individual honors after firing a 72-hole total of 287 (1-under).

Toledo posted a total scored of 1226 and placed second overall, while Ball State finished third after carding a team total of 1230. Western Michigan made a late charge in the fourth round and posted a team score of 291. WMU was led by Erin Thorne and Jenna Walter who turned in rounds of 69 and 71, respectively. The Broncos finished fourth with a team total of 1231.

KSU's Kira Meixner finished in second place with a total of 291 (3-over), while teammate Becky Wood and Ohio's Ana Brown tied for third with a total of 294 (6-over).

Kent State's Becky Wood, Meixner and Delaney were all selected to the All-MAC first team. Eastern Michigan's Catharine Fortin and Toledo's Tammy Clelland rounded out the first team honorees.

KSU's Karen Delaney and Kirby Dreher were selected to the All-MAC second team along with Toledo's Kim Kester and Natalie Storck. Ball State's Kallie Harrison also received second-team recognition.

Kent State's Mike Morrow won Coach of the Year honors for the seventh time in his career, while Toledo's Storck was selected by her peers as the Sportswoman of the Year.

Player of the Year: Tara Delaney, Kent State
Freshman of the Year: Kirby Dreher, Kent State
Coach of the Year: Mike Morrow, Kent State
Sportswoman of the Year: Natalie Storck, Toledo

All-MAC First Team:
Catherine Fortin, Eastern Michigan
Becky Wood, Kent State
Tara Delaney, Kent State
Kira Meixner, Kent State
Tammy Clelland, Toledo

All-MAC Second Team
Kallie Harrison, Ball State
Karen Delaney, Kent State
Kirby Dreher, Kent State
Kim Kester, Toledo
Natalie Storck, Toledo