MAC Announces Women's Tennis Honors

Updated 4/27/2006

April 27, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Oxford, Ohio -- League champion Western Michigan led the way with three all-MAC selections and two specialty award winners at the league's annual banquet announcing the post season awards. The banquet was held on the Miami University campus as part of the 2006 Mid-American Conference Women's Tennis Championship.

Malena Remynse and Carrie Jeanmarie represented the league champion Broncos on the first team while Reedhina Parekh was tabbed for second team honors. Buffalo, which finished as league runner-up in a tie with Miami, had two first-team selections in Andreea Novaceanu and Miglena Nenova. Novaceanu was the only repeat first-team honoree from last year. Ball State's Jessica Thompson and Miami's Kathy Lomidze rounded out the first-team selections as voted on by league head coaches.

Joining Parekh on the second-team are Ashley Jakupcin of Bowling Green, Leda Pesatova from Miami, Jenny Edner of Northern Illinois and Toledo teammates Myriam Cueva and Eunice Paravicini.

Remynse was honored as the Player of the Year, joining Frederika Girsang in 2003 as the only WMU players to capture the honor. Remynse compiled a 4-0 MAC record and 18-10 overall mark at No. 1 singles and a 6-2 league slate and 22-16 overall mark at No. 1 doubles is leading the Broncos to a perfect 8-0 MAC record. Her teammate, Kerstin Pahl, was recognized as the Freshman of the Year. Pahl, from Kiel, Germany, and Girsang in 2001 and Larissa Chinwah in 1999 are WMU products to win the award.

Coach of the Year goes to Buffalo's Kathy Twist. Twist, in her 10th year at UB, guided the Bulls to their highest ever MAC finish at 6-2, tying for second place with Miami. The Bulls earned the MAC Tournament's No. 2 seed. Twist is the first ever UB coach to be tabbed as MAC Women's Tennis Coach of the Year.

The Leann Grimes Davidge Sportsmanship award went to Akron freshman Tanya Gombera. Gombera, a native of Horare, Zimbabwe, became the third player in school history to be honored with the sportsmanship award. The Zips' Colleen Hollowel won the award in 1997 and Grace deGuia in 1998. The sportsmanship award is voted on by the student-athletes from each school based on a player who has displayed outstanding sportsmanship in MAC competition.

The award is named in honor of Leann Grimes Davidge, who served as Miami's women's tennis coach from 1978 until her tragic death in an automobile accident in January 1985. During her years as head coach, Miami won three outright MAC championships and shared another. She was chosen as the MAC Coach of the Year by her peers in 1981 and 1983.

First Team All-MAC
Name	                School	          Cl.	Hometown
Jessica Thompson	Ball State	  Jr.	Carmel, Ind.
Andreea Novaceanu#	Buffalo	          So.	Bucharest, Romania
Miglena Nenova% &	Buffalo	          Jr.	Rousse, Bulgaria
Katrina Lomidze	        Miami	          Jr.	Pompano Beach, Fla.
Malena Remynse%	        Western Michigan  Sr.	Portage, Mich.
Carrie Jeanmarie*	Western Michigan  Jr.	Belvidere, Ill.

Second Team All-MAC Ashley Jakupcin% Bowling Green Jr. Dublin, Ohio Leda Pesatova Miami So. Czech, Republic Jenny Edner Northern Illinois Fr. Stocksund, Sweden Myriam Cueva# Toledo Jr. Quito, Ecuador Eunice Paravicini Toledo Sr. Cochabama, Bolivia Reedhina Parekh Western Michigan Sr. Calcutta, India

# 2005 first-team all-MAC % 2005 second-team all-MAC & 2004 first-team all-MAC

* 2004 second-team all-MAC

Player of the Year- Malena Remynse, Western Michigan(Sr., Portage, Mich.)
Freshman of the Year- Kerstin Pahl, Western Michigan (Kiel, Germany)
Coach of the Year- Kathy Twist, Buffalo
Leann Grimes Davidge Sportsmanship Award- Tanya Gombera, Akron (Horare, Zimbabwe)