MAC 2003 Preseason Tennis Polls Narrowly Favors Ball State (men)

Updated 2/21/2003

Feb. 21, 2003

In the Mid-American Conference preseason polls, the Ball State University men's tennis team was tabbed to win the season championship, while the Marshall women's team was the poll favorite. Both teams edged their nearest competition by just one point. The poll was conducted among the head tennis coaches of the MAC schools.

For the men, Ball State placed first with 26 points and received two of the first-place votes to edge out Northern Illinois, which came in a close second with 25 points. Northern Illinois had two first-place votes and received two votes to win the championship.

Western Michigan came in third place with 24 points, beating out Toledo, which had 13 points. Buffalo, with 11 points, came in fifth. League newcomer Indiana-Purdue Fort Wayne (IPFW) received five points and the number six slot to round out the men's poll.

The men have two 2002 All-MAC first- team members and three second-team members returning this year, including 2002 Newcomer of the Year, Erick Martinez of Northern Illinois.

On the women's side, Marshall took first place with 86 points and five first-place votes. Eastern Michigan accounted for the other four tallies to win the tournament championship.

Coming in third place was Western Michigan with 70 points. Northern Illinois garnered 59 points, placing fourth. Fifth place went to Ball State and Miami, which tied with 51 points.

Rounding out the women's poll are Bowling Green (38), Toledo (27), Akron (18), and Buffalo (10) to finish seventh, eighth, ninth, and tenth, respectively.

Returning for this season for the women are four members of the 2002 All-MAC first team and four from the second team. This includes 2002 Player of the Year Lisa D'Amelio from Eastern Michigan 2002 and Newcomer of the Year Jessica Johnson of Marshall.

Men (5 ballots received)
School (1st-place votes) Points

1. Ball State (2) 26
2. Northern Illinois (2) 25
3. Western Michigan 24
4. Toledo 13
5. Buffalo 11
6. IPFW 5

Projected tournament winners:
Northern Illinois (2), Ball State (2), Western Michigan (1).

Women (9 ballots received)
School (1st-place votes) Points

1. Marshall (5) 86
2. Eastern Michigan (4) 85
3. Western Michigan 70
4. Northern Illinois 59
5-t. Miami 51
5-t. Ball State 51
7. Bowling Green 38
8. Toledo 27
9. Akron 18
10.Buffalo 10

Projected tournament winners:
Marshall (5), Eastern Michigan (4)