MAC Announces 2013 Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Academic All-MAC Team

Updated 1/15/2014
CLEVELAND, Ohio -- The Mid-American Conference announced its 2013 Men's and Women's Cross Country Academic All-MAC teams Wednesday, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 11 student-athletes were named to the men's team, while 29 student-athletes were named to the women's team. The number of honorees on the MAC All-Academic Team are the number that is set for the specific sport or 33% of the number of nominees, whichever is greater. 
Eastern Michigan led the men's team with three selections, while Ohio and Toledo led the women's squad with five selections a piece. Kent State’s Paige Foster, Northern Illinois' Leah Raffety and Ohio’s Maureen Dean were the only three student-athletes on either the men's or women's teams to record a perfect 4.0 GPA.
The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.
2013 Men’s Cross Country Academic All-MAC Team
Trevor Norris, Akron, Sophomore, 3.57, GPA, Biology
Kyle Cochrun, Akron, Sophomore, 3.84 GPA, English
Greg Black, Bowling Green, R-Junior, 3.898 GPA, Accounting
Jason Salyer, Bowling Green, Senior, 3.880 GPA, Adolescence to Young Adult Education
Zach Ahart, Buffalo, Senior, 3.37 GPA, Chemistry
Monte Scott, Central Michigan, Sophomore, 3.90 GPA, Biology
Harry Dixon, Eastern Michigan, Senior, 3.99 GPA, Political Science
Grzegorz Kalinowski, Eastern Michigan, Senior, 3.75 GPA, Marketing
Willy Fink, Eastern Michigan, Sophomore, 3.83 GPA, Biology
Andrew Goodwin, Kent State, Senior, 3.554 GPA, Applied Engineering
Brandon O’Malley, Ohio, Junior, 3.753 GPA, Psychology, Biological Sciences and Business Administration
2013 Women’s Cross Country Academic All-MAC Team
Jillian Roth, Akron, Junior, 3.58 GPA, Mechanical Engineering
Courtney Edon, Ball State, Junior, 3.934 GPA, Nursing
Caitlynn Edon, Ball State, Junior, 3.810 GPA, Nursing
Mackenzie McMillin, Bowling Green, R-Freshman, 3.900 GPA, Undecided
Maria Meredith, Bowling Green, R-Sophomore, 3.900 GPA, Communication Disorders
Rebecca Rae, Bowling Green, Sophomore, 3.464 GPA, Biology
Breanne Lesnar, Central Michigan, Sophomore, 3.96 GPA, Health Education
Krista Parks, Central Michigan, Senior, 3.22 GPA, Psychology
Kelly Schbert, Central Michigan, Sophomore, 3.95 GPA, Undecided
Kayla Pfund, Eastern Michigan, Senior, 3.53 GPA, Exercise Science
Amy Frauhammer, Eastern Michigan, Sophomore, 3.92 GPA, Management
Victoria Voronko, Eastern Michigan, Junior, 3.80 GPA, Physical Education
Paige Foster, Kent State, Junior, 4.0 GPA, Nursing
Alex Chitwood, Miami, Junior, 3.92 GPA, Diplomacy and Global Studies
Jess Hoover, Miami, Junior, 3.83 GPA, Finance
Erica Howes, Miami, Senior, 3.97 GPA, Nutrition
Anna Lamb, Miami, Junior, 3.92 GPA, Kinesiology
Leah Raffety, Northern Illinois, R-Freshman, 4.0 GPA, Health Sciences
Juli Accurso, Ohio, Senior, 3.882 GPA, French and Linguistics
Maureen Dean, Ohio, Sophomore, 4.0 GPA, Biology
Caroline Hildebrand, Ohio, Sophomore, 3.457 GPA, Electrical Engineering
Melissa Thompson, Ohio, Senior, 3.891 GPA, Journalism
Tessa Weigand, Ohio, Sophomore, 3.906 GPA, Accounting
Mackenzie Chojnacky, Toledo
Brooke Tullis, Toledo, Junior, 3.400 GPA, Nursing
Liz Weiler, Toledo, Junior, 3.565 GPA, Marketing and Professional Sales
Megan Gaysunas, Toledo, Junior, 3.762 GPA, Marketing
Megan Wright, Toledo, Junior, 3.423 GPA, Exercise Science 
Aisha Hodge, Western Michigan, Senior, 3.57 GPA, Psychology
Men’s Cross Country Honorable Mention
Tim Jurick, Bowling Green
Jeremy Richard, Bowling Green
Joe Van Bolderen, Bowling Green
Cameron Bruce, Buffalo
Brian Crimmins, Buffalo
Nate Ghena, Central Michigan
Alec Hewitt, Central Michigan
Ethan Lievense, Central Michigan
Casey Voisin, Central Michigan
Daryl Smith, Eastern Michigan
Ian Hancke, Eastern Michigan
William Trice, Eastern Michigan
Matt Dietrich, Miami
Matt Marol, Miami
Joseph Stewart, Miami
Matt Stewart, Miami
Jarrod Genther, Ohio
Kurt Steinmuller, Ohio
Jacob Stephens, Ohio
Adam Smercina, Toledo
Trevin Flickinger, Toledo
Women’s Cross Country Honorable Mention
Danielle Dahl, Ball State
Madelyn Webster, Ball State
Andrea Alt, Bowling Green
Amanda Garlack, Bowling Green
Lindsay Kaatz, Bowling Green
Chrissy Clarkin, Buffalo
Kaitlin McCadden, Buffalo
Esther Bell, Central Michigan
Marina Manjon Rivadulla, Eastern Michigan
Rebecca Quaintance, Eastern Michigan
Melinda Sawnor, Kent State
Julianne Ballog, Miami
Mary Davis, Miami
Mattie Moncayo, Miami
Taylor Wickware, Miami
Jamie Burr, Northern Illinois
Ali Olson, Northern Illinois
Hannah Savage, Northern Illinois
Morgan Meade, Ohio
Morgan Reichert, Ohio
Kayla Scott, Ohio
Priscilla Timmons, Toledo
Raychel Figurski, Western Michigan
Alex Forsythe, Western Michigan
Teresa Marin, Western Michigan
Emily McAnsh, Western Michigan
Ashley Moyer, Western Michigan
Becca Peacoack, Western Michigan
Ashley Sellers, Western Michigan