Buffalo's Khalil Mack Named To Butkus Award Watch List

Updated 7/15/2013

Buffalo Linebacker Khalil Mack Named To 2013 Butkus Award Watch List

CHICAGO – (July 15, 2013) – The 29th annual Butkus Award Watch List to honor the nation’s best linebacker began today with announcement of the collegiate and high school pre-season watch list. Named to this list was Buffalo senior linebacker Khalil Mack.
Mack became the first student-athlete from the University at Buffalo to be named to the Butkus Award Watch list. Last season, the senior linebacker earned first-team All-Conference honors for the second year in a row, and also was tabbed by Sports Illustrated as an honorable mention All-American. The Fort Pierce, FL native had 94 tackles, including 21 tackles for loss, again putting him among the nation's best in the category. Mack added four forced fumbles and eight quarterback sacks in 2012. He begins his senior campaign within reach of two NCAA all-time career records as he is just 19 tackles for loss shy of the all-time national mark and just three forced fumbles away from the career leaders as well.
The Butkus Award Watch  List contains 51 candidates, honoring the now-retired professional jersey number of Dick Butkus, who is regarded by NFL Films as the best defensive player in football history. The selection panel is comprised of 51 coaches, evaluators and journalists.
Semi-finalists will be named October 28, finalists November 26, and winners will be notified on or before December 10.  The Pro Butkus Award winner will be announced in January 2014.
2012 Butkus Award winners: 
Professional: Von Miller, Denver Broncos.
Collegiate: Manti Te’o, Notre Dame, now San Diego Chargers.
High School:  Jaylon Smith, Bishop Luers, Fort Wayne, Ind., now Notre Dame.
The Butkus Award was expanded in 2008 to honor linebackers at three levels while helping spread the word about Butkus’ I Play Clean™ initiative which encourages teens to eat well, train hard, and play with attitude instead of resorting to steroids and related drugs.  More information is available at www.iplayclean.org or at www.facebook.com/i.play.clean.
The Butkus Award, www.thebutkusaward.com or www.facebook.com/51.butkus, is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization. The Butkus Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which includes the 21 most prestigious awards in college football with 678 years of selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org for more information.
Name, College
Adrian Hubbard, Alabama
C.J. Mosley, Alabama
Carl Bradford, Arizona State
Chris Young, Arizona State
Bryce Hager, Baylor
Steele Divitto, Boston College
Khalil Mack, Buffalo
Spencer Hadley, BYU
Uani Unga, BYU
Kyle Van Noy, BYU
Greg Blair, Cincinnati
Derrick Webb, Colorado
Yawin Smallwood, Connecticut
Dorian Bell, Duquesne
Derrell Johnson, East Carolina
Christian Jones, Florida State
Telvin Smith, Florida State
Jordan Jenkins, Georgia
Jerry Attaochu, Georgia Tech
Brandon Watts, Georgia Tech
Jonathan Brown, Illinois
Anthony Hitchens, Iowa
Christian Kirksey, Iowa
James Morris, Iowa
Jeremiah George, Iowa State
Avery Williamson, Kentucky
Preston Brown, Louisville
Lamin Barrow, LSU
Max Bullough, Michigan State
D.T. Shackelford, Mississippi
Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State
Deontae Skinner, Mississippi State
Carlo Calabrese, Notre Dame
Dan Fox, Notre Dame
Prince Shembo, Notre Dame
Ryan Shazier, Ohio State
Boseko Lokombo, Oregon
Glenn Carson, Penn State
Jamal Merrell, Rutgers
Dede Lattimore, South Florida
Cqulin Hubert, Southeastern Louisiana
Trent Murphy, Stanford
Shane Skov, Stanford
A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
Anthony Barr, UCLA
Eric Kendricks, UCLA
Jordan Zumwalt, UCLA
Hayes Pullard, USC
Trevor Reilly, Utah
Andrew Jackson, Western Kentucky
Chris Borland, Wisconsin