Mack and Nix Named to Bronko Nagurski Watch List

Updated 7/11/2013


Buffalo LB Khalil Mack and Kent State DT Roosevelt Nix Named to List
The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is presented to the National Defensive Player of the Year by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America.  The Bronko Nagurski Award is given annually to the nation's most outstanding defensive player.
Representing the MAC are Buffalo senior linebacker Khalil Mack and Kent State senior defensive tackle Roosevelt Nix.
Mack earned first-team All-Conference honors for the second year in a row last season, and also was tabbed by Sports Illustrated as an honorable mention All-American. The Fort Pierce, FL native had 94 tackles, including 21 tackles for loss, again putting him among the nation's best in the category. Mack added four forced fumbles and eight quarterback sacks in 2012. He begins his senior campaign within reach of two NCAA all-time career records as he is just 19 tackles for loss shy of the all-time national mark and just three forced fumbles away from the career leaders as well.
Nix is a three-time All- Mid-American Conference First Team selection. Nix is among the nation's career active leaders in tackles for loss (52.0), sacks (20.5) and forced fumbles (10).
Linemen (28)
Jeremiah Attaochu, Georgia Tech
Deion Barnes, Penn State
Calvin Barnett, Oklahoma State
Morgan Breslin, USC
Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
Scott Crichton, Oregon State
Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
Dominique Easley, Florida
Devonte Fields, TCU
Ben Gardner, Stanford
Ra’Shede Hageman, Minnesota
Kerry Hyder, Texas Tech
Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas
Timmy Jernigan, Florida State
Anthony Johnson, LSU
Demarcus Lawrence, Boise State
Aaron Lynch, USF
Kareem Martin, North Carolina
Daniel McCullers, Tennessee
Louis Nix III, Notre Dame
Roosevelt Nix, Kent State
Marcus Rush, Michigan State
Tyler Scott, Northwestern
Chris Smith, Arkansas
Will Sutton, Arizona State
Stephon Tuitt, Notre Dame
Nikita Whitlock, Wake Forest
Leonard Williams, USC
Linebackers (27)
Anthony Barr, UCLA
Greg Blair, Cincinnati
Chris Borland, Wisconsin
Carl Bradford, Arizona State
Jonathan Brown, Illinois
Max Bullough, Michigan State
Bryce Hager, Baylor
Jordan Hicks, Texas
Adrian Hubbard, Alabama
Andrew Jackson, Western Kentucky
Shawn Jackson, Tulsa
A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
Christian Jones, Florida State
Eric Kendricks, UCLA
Shaun Lewis, Oklahoma State
Khalil Mack, Buffalo
James Morris, Iowa
C.J. Mosley, Alabama
Trent Murphy, Stanford
Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss
Kevin Pierre-Louis, Boston College
Hayes Pullard, USC
Ryan Shazier, Ohio State
Shayne Skov, Stanford
Yawin Smallwood, Connecticut
Jack Tyler, Virginia Tech
Kyle Van Noy, BYU
Backs (26)
Ricardo Allen, Purdue
Deion Belue, Alabama
Bene Benwikere, San Jose State
Tre Boston, North Carolina
Christian Bryant, Ohio State
Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama
Ross Cockrell, Duke
Aaron Colvin, Oklahoma
Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State
Quandre Diggs, Texas
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon
Antone Exum, Virginia Tech
Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State
Andre Hal, Vanderbilt
Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State
Craig Loston, LSU
Terrance Mitchell, Oregon
Marco Nelson, Tulsa
Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida
Ed Reynolds, Stanford
Bradley Roby, Ohio State
Hakeem Smith, Louisville
Damian Swann, Georgia
Jason Verrett, TCU
Nickoe Whitley, Mississippi State
Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State