Four MAC Placekickers Named to Lou Groza Award Watch List

Updated 7/10/2013

2013 Lou Groza Preseason Watch List Announced; MAC Tied For Most Kickers On This Year's list

Detmer (Toledo), Mulder (Eastern Michigan), Patterson (Miami), Sims (Northern Illinois) Named To Lou Groza Watch List

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – Thirty-players were named to the Watch List for the 2013 Lou Groza College Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission.  Representing the MAC are Jeremiah Detmer of Toledo, Dylan Mulder of Eastern Michigan, Kaleb Patterson of Miami and Mathew Sims of Northern Illinois.  
Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2012 season and 2013 expectations. Ten conferences are represented among the 30 kickers, led by four each from the MAC, ACC, Big Ten and Conference USA, while the Mountain West placed three representatives. The American, Big 12, Pac-12, SEC and the Sun Belt each had two kickers recognized, along with independent Notre Dame.
Detmer led the nation with 24 field goals in 2012, including 17 in a row to finish out the season. Detmer, whose 24 field goals set the Toledo record, earned third-team All-MAC honors. His best game came in a 29-23 victory over No. 18 Cincinnati when he connected on 5-of-5 field goals, including a season-long 47-yarder.
Mulder finished last season with the sixth highest field goal percentage of any Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) kicker with at least 10 attempts as a true freshman. He posted three double-digit scoring games, including a 3-for-3 performance in the Eagles 29-23 win over Western Michigan.  Mulder appeared in 10 games, making 10 out of his attempted 11 field goals for the season, three of which were beyond the 40 yard line. He also connected on 24 out of his 27 attempted PATs and was the team leader in points scored with 54. 
Patterson led Miami in scoring last season with 68 points. Patterson was 15-of-18 in field goal attempts, including 5-of-6 from 40-49 yards in his freshman season with the RedHawks.
Sims set Northern Illinois records for most field goal attempts (67) and converted (66) in 2012. He was 15-of-19 in field goal attempts last year, including a three-for-three performance in the Mid-American Conference Championship game. Sims helped the Huskies to a 44-37 double-overtime win over Kent State, connecting on a 40-yard boot in the first overtime.  Sims helped Northern Illinois to its first MAC title in 28 years when he hit a 33-yard field goal as time expired to give the Huskies a 23-20 victory over Ohio, 23-20, in the 2011 MAC Championship game. He kicked a school record 54-yard field goal at Western Michigan and scored a touchdown on a fake field goal against Central Michigan. 
Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award will announce its 20 semifinalists on Monday, November 4th. From this list, a panel of more than 300 FBS head coaches, SIDs, media members, and former winners selects the top three finalists for the award by Monday, November 25th. That same group then selects the national winner, who will be announced on Thursday, December 12th during the Home Depot College Football Awards, broadcast live from Orlando, Fla.
The 22nd Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Orange Bowl Committee, recognizes the three finalists during an early week celebration in Palm Beach County, culminating with a gala awards banquet on December 10th, prior to joining ESPN in Orlando.
The Award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou “The Toe” Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an All-Pro offensive lineman as well, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.
For more information on the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award and to see the “Stars of the Week” throughout the season, please go to For even more updates on the best kicking performances throughout the season, follow @LouGrozaAward on Twitter.
Chris Boswell – Rice
Kyle Brindza – Notre Dame
Jeff Budzien – Northwestern
Chandler Catanzaro – Clemson
Brian Davis – Arkansas State
Jeremiah Detmer – Toledo
Nick Diaz – Utah State
Mitch Ewald – Indiana
Nate Freese – Boston College
Andrew Furney – Washington State
Brendan Gibbons – Michigan
Warren Harvey – East Carolina
Michael Hunnicutt – Oklahoma
Cody Journell – Virginia Tech
Ty Long – UAB
Austin Lopez – San Jose State
Ross Martin – Duke
Mike Meyer – Iowa
Tony Miliano – Cincinnati
Dylan Mulder – Eastern Michigan
Jaden Oberkrom – TCU
Cody Parkey – Auburn
Kaleb Patterson – Miami (OH)
Jared Roberts – Colorado State
Trevor Romaine – Oregon State
Cairo Santos – Tulane
Will Scott – Troy
Mathew Sims – Northern Illinois
Carey Spear – Vanderbilt
John Wallace – Louisville