Mack and Nix Named to Bednarik Award Watch List

Updated 7/8/2013

Buffalo LB Khalil Mack and Kent State DT Roosevelt Nix Named to Bednarik Award Watch List

The Maxwell Football Club today announced the watch list for the 19th annual Bednarik Award, presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995. Chuck Bednarik, a former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of '69 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of '67.
Representing the MAC on this year's watch list are Buffalo LB Khalil Mack and Kent State DT Roosevelt Nix.
Mack, has been named to the Chuck Bednarik Award watch list for the second straight season. Last season, the senior linebacker earned first-team All-Conference honors for the second year in a row, and also was tabbed by Sports Illustrated as an honorable mention All-American. The Fort Pierce, FL native had 94 tackles, including 21 tackles for loss, again putting him among the nation's best in the category. Mack added four forced fumbles and eight quarterback sacks in 2012. He begins his senior campaign within reach of two NCAA all-time career records as he is just 19 tackles for loss shy of the all-time national mark and just three forced fumbles away from the career leaders as well.
Nix is a three-time All- Mid-American Conference First Team selection. Nix is among the nation's career active leaders in tackles for loss (52.0), sacks (20.5) and forced fumbles (10).
The Bednarik Award watch list will once again incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast. The Bednarik Award watch list features three of last season's semifinalists as well, Alabama LB C.J. Mosley, South Carolina DE Jadeveon Clowney and Arizona State DT Will Sutton.
Last season, Notre Dame LB Manti Te’o made history by becoming the first player to win the Bednarik Award and the Maxwell Award in the same year.
Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced Oct. 29, while the three finalists will be unveiled Nov. 18. The winner of the 2013 Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 5. The formal presentations of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 7, 2014.
The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2013 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, FBS head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.
The Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. 
Player, Position, School, Year
Jeremiah Attaochu DE Georgia Tech Senior
Deion Barnes DE Penn State Junior
Calvin Barnett DT Oklahoma State Senior
C.J. Barnett S Ohio State Senior
Anthony Barr LB UCLA Senior
Lamin Barrow LB LSU Senior
Vic Beasley DE Clemson Junior
Deion Belue CB Alabama Senior
Bene Benwikere CB San Jose State Senior
Greg Blair LB Cincinnati Senior
Chris Borland LB Wisconsin Senior
Carl Bradford LB Arizona State Junior
Morgan Breslin LB USC Senior
Jonathan Brown LB Illinois Senior
Max Bullough LB Michigan State Senior
Ryan Carrethers DT Arkansas State Senior
Ha Ha Clinton-Dix S Alabama Junior
Jadeveon Clowney DE South Carolina Junior
Aaron Colvin CB Oklahoma Senior
Scott Crichton DE Oregon State Junior
Darqueze Dennard CB Michigan State Senior
Aaron Donald DT Pittsburgh Senior
Dominique Easley DT Florida Senior
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu CB Oregon Junior
Jake Fely LB San Diego State Junior
Devonte Fields DE TCU Soph
Jake Fischer LB Arizona Senior
Dee Ford DE Auburn Senior
E.J. Gaines CB Missouri Senior
Ben Gardner DE Stanford Senior
James Gayle DE Virginia Tech Senior
Ra’Shede Hageman DT Minnesota Senior
Bryce Hager LB Baylor Junior
Andre Hal CB Vanderbilt Senior
Bennett Jackson CB Notre Dame Senior
Andrew Jackson LB Western Kentucky Senior
Jackson Jeffcoat DE Texas Senior
Timmy Jernigan DT Florida State Junior
Anthony Johnson DT LSU Junior
A.J. Johnson LB Tennessee Junior
Christian Jones LB Florida State Senior
Lamarcus Joyner S Florida State Senior
Eric Kendricks LB UCLA Junior
DeDe Lattimore LB South Florida Senior
Craig Loston S LSU Senior
Khalil Mack LB Buffalo Senior
Kareem Martin DE North Carolina Senior
Daniel McCullers DT Tennessee Senior
Benardrick McKinney LB Mississippi State Soph
Jamal Merrell LB Rutgers Senior
James Morris LB Iowa Senior
C.J. Mosley LB Alabama Senior
Trent Murphy LB Stanford Senior
Roosevelt Nix DT Kent State Senior
Louis Nix III DT Notre Dame Senior
Calvin Pryor S Louisville Junior
Loucheiz Purifoy CB Florida Junior
Travis Raciti DT San Jose State Junior
Bradley Roby CB Ohio State Junior
Ryan Shazier LB Ohio State Junior
Prince Shembo LB Notre Dame Senior
Shayne Skov LB Stanford Senior
Yawin Smallwood LB Connecticut Junior
Derron Smith S Fresno State Junior
Chris Smith DE Arkansas Senior
Hakeem Smith S Louisville Senior
Will Sutton DT Arizona State Senior
Jemea Thomas CB Georgia Tech Senior
Stephon Tuitt DE Notre Dame Junior
Chidera Uzo-Diribe DE Colorado Senior
Kyle Van Noy LB BYU Senior
Jason Verrett CB TCU Senior
Nikita Whitlock DT Wake Forest Senior
Leonard Williams DE USC Soph
Ty Zimmerman S Kansas State Senior