MAC Announces Leadership Appointments

Updated 6/4/2013


Cleveland, Ohio –The Mid-American Conference concluded its 2013 Spring Meetings last week and the following appointments were announced.
Western Michigan University President, Dr. John M. Dunn was named chair of the council of Presidents replacing Ball State University President, Dr. Jo Ann Gora, who served as chair for the last four academic years.
Ohio University President, Dr. Roderick J. McDavis, was named the MAC representative to the NCAA Board of Directors and BCS Presidential Oversight Committee replacing Northern Illinois University President Dr. John Peters, who served this role for the last four academic years.  Dr. Peters is retiring as Northern Illinois University President effective July 1, 2013 after coming to DeKalb in 2000.
Two Presidents were named to the MAC Executive Committee as University of Toledo President, Dr. Lloyd Jacobs, and Eastern Michigan University President, Dr. Susan W. Martin, will replace Dr. Peters and Dr. Gora respectively.
In addition, two new council heads were appointed as Dr. Matt Streb and Dave Heeke were named Chairs of their respective councils.  
Streb, the Faculty Athletics Representative of Northern Illinois University will take over as chair of the Council of Faculty Athletics Representatives, replacing Western Michigan University's Fred Sitkins.  Sitkins served as the chair for the Council of Faculty Athletics Representatives for the past three academic years.  
Central Michigan University's Director of Athletics, Dave Heeke, was named the Chair of the Council of Directors of Athletics, replacing Greg Christopher of Bowling Green State University, following his departure from the institution.