MAC in the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships

Updated 3/25/2013

Courtesy of MAC Sports Information Departments 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -  Junior breaststroker Bridgette Ruehl completed her run in the 2013 NCAA Division I Women's Swimming and Diving Championships Saturday afternoon. Ruehl finished 46th in the 200 breast.
The junior turned in a time of 2:14.59 in the 200 breast preliminaries. Current NCAA record holder Breeja Larson of Texas A&M finished in first place with a time of 2:06.32.
Ruehl was only the second Cardinal in school history to make it to the NCAA Division I Women's Swimming and Diving Championships. The junior was named to the First Team All-MAC earlier in the month.
Bowling Green 
Indianapolis - Bowling Green State University swim team member Daniela Carrillo placed 37th in prelims of the 200-yard breaststroke, closing out her final race at the 2013 NCAA Championships in IU Natatorium.

Carrillo swam a time of 2:12.89 to earn her place out of the 52 swimmers in prelims. It was her second-best time of the year, behind her pool record-setting 2:11.20 at the MAC Championships.

"Overall it was a great experience for her - she can only get better from here," said head coach Petra Martin. "I'm proud that she was there and it was good for her to pick up a few things, particularly how to deal with different pressure situations with a meet of this level. We hope to move forward from here."

The 200 breaststroke was Carrillo's second race of the weekend, after swimming in prelims for the 100-yard breaststroke on Friday. Carrillo placed 36th overall in that race, touching in a time of 1:01.31.

Only a freshman, Carrillo became the first swimmer to advance to NCAA Championships since Cheryl Patteson in 1996. A two-time silver medalist at this year's MAC Championships, Carrillo's record-breaking swims at that meet in the 100- and 200 breaststroke resulted in an invitation to the NCAA meet.

With Carrillo's final race, the 2012-13 season for Bowling Green swimming comes to end. The Falcons' successful year was highlighted by a third-place finish at MAC Championships, an individual MAC champio (Alexa Harris, 200 backstroke), Martin earning MAC Coach of the Year and Carrillo's berth to NCAAs.

Eastern Michigan

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Eastern Michigan University women's swimming and diving team had a senior, Briana Emig, compete at the 2013 NCAA Championships Saturday, March 23, at the IUPUI Swimming Facility.
Emig took part in the 1,650-freestyle at the final event of the 2012-13 campaign. Emig took 27th with a 16:21.09 on Saturday evening.
After this weekend's competition, Eastern finished 27th in the overall team standings with 23 total points. The Eagles finished ahead of Big Ten Conference opponents Ohio State, Penn State and Michigan.
Kelly Hendricks was named a First Team All-American after a third place finish in the three-meter dive and All-American Honorable Mention for an 11th place finishes in the one-meter competition. Danielle Hulvey earned All-America Honorable Mention status with a 16th place finish in the one-meter dive.


Eastern Michigan
INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.  – Eastern Michigan University senior Jacob Hanson earned All-American status Saturday, March 30, when he placed in the top-eight at the NCAA Championships.

Hanson took fourth in the 200-backstroke with a time of 1:39.87. The time earned Hanson First Team All-American status, while Eastern earned a team score of 15, good for 29th overall, defeating schools like Notre Dame and North Carolina.
Hanson completed his career after multiple Mid-American Conference accolades, while also adding an All-American performance to his mantle.
Missouri State 
INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - On the final night of the 2013 NCAA Division I Swimming & Diving Championships when three American records fell at IU Natatorium, Missouri State sophomore Paul Le was making history of his own. Finishing 15th overall in the 200-yard backstroke, Le became the first Bear to place top 16 at nationals and earn NCAA All-American honorable mention recognition.
In the consolation finals, the sophomore sensation from Moore, Okla., posted a time of 1:42.57, which was slightly slower than his prelims performance of 1:41.69. Split evenly down the middle, half of the B-Finalists dropped time from this morning's session, while half of the field added time.
Wisconsin sophomore Andrew Teduits was crowned champion in the championship final with a time of 1:38.27, winning by more than a second over second-place finisher David Nolan of Stanford. Additionally, fellow Mid-American Conference swimmer Jacob Hanson (EMU) placed fourth overall and lowered the MAC conference record to 1:39.87.
The 15th-place finish for Le on Saturday (March 30) put Missouri State on the scoreboard at NCAAs for the first time ever. The Bears finished the NCAA Championships with 2 points, which was good for 39th place. In the 53-team field, a total of 13 schools failed to score a point on the weekend.
Le's swim wraps up an exciting 2012-13 season, which included a runner-up finish for the Bears at the 2013 MAC Championships in Carbondale, Ill.
-Schools represented in the top 16 of the 200 back included Arizona, California, Eastern Michigan, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Missouri State, Penn State, Stanford (3), Tennessee, Texas (2), Virginia and Wisconsin.
-More than half of the top 16 qualifiers were underclassmen. By class, there were five freshman, five sophomores, two juniors and four seniors.

Final Team Standings (Men's)

1. Michigan                        480   
2. California                   406.5
3. Arizona                       313.5   
4. Southern Cali              289
5. Texas                            288   
6. Florida                       285.5
7. Stanford                       282   
8. Auburn                      226.5
9. Indiana                         201  
10. Georgia                      163
11. Louisville                      93  
12. Ohio St                           87
13. Wisconsin                     84  
14. Missouri                         80
15. NC State                         74  
16. Tennessee                     59
17. Duke University              54  
18. Minnesota                        53
18. Arizona St                         53  
20. Penn St                             52
20. Virginia Tech                    52  
22. Kentucky                           45
23. Florida St                          40  
24. Texas A&M                       32
25. Purdue                              26  
26. Lsu                                    24
27. Virginia                             22  
28. Alabama                          20
t-29. Eastern Mich              15  
t-29. UNC                               15
t-29. Unlv                                15  
32. U of Iowa                         14
t-33. Dartmouth                     11  
t-33. Univ of Utah                   11
35. So. Methodist                     8  
t-36. Notre Dame                     7
t-36. Michigan St                      7  
38. South Carolina                  4
39. Missouri St. (M)               2  
40. Wyoming (M)                     1