MAC Announces Men's Basketball All-MAC, All-Freshman Teams

Updated 3/11/2013


Cleveland, Ohio - Today the Mid-American Conference announced the All-MAC First Team, Second Team, Third Team and Honorable Mention selections for the 2012-13 season. The teams were voted on by the league's head coaches. The league's All-Freshman team was also announced today.

Ohio's D.J. Cooper was named to this year's All-MAC First Team, marking the third consecutive season that the senior guard has been selected for the honor. Joining Cooper on the 2012-13 First Team is Akron's Zeke Marshall, Buffalo's Javon McCrea, Kent State's Chris Evans and Toledo's Rian Pearson. Marshall and Pearson made an appearance on last year's All-MAC Second Team, while this marks the first All-MAC honor of any kind for Evans. 
The All-MAC Second Team featured Akron’s Demetrius "Tree" Treadwell, Ball State's Jauwan Scaife, Bowling Green's A'uston Calhoun, Central Michigan's Kyle Randall and Western Michigan's Shayne Whittington. This marks the second consecutive season Calhoun has been named to the Second Team. 

All-MAC Third Team honors went to Ball State's Majok Majok, Kent State's Randal Holt, Ohio's Walter Offutt, Ohio's Reggie Keely and Toledo's Julius "Juice" Brown
Rounding out this year's team as Honorable Mentions were Akron's Alex Abreu, Bowling Green's Jordon Crawford, Eastern Michigan's Glenn Bryant, Miami's Will Felder and Western Michigan's Nate Hutcheson
The MAC All-Freshman Team was made up of Western Michigan's Darius Paul, Toledo's Nathan Boothe, Central Michigan's Chris Fowler, Buffalo's Jarryn Skeete and Akron's Jake Kretzer

Men's First Round action takes place tonight as No. 8 Buffalo hosts No. 9 Central Michigan, No. 7 Eastern Michigan hosts No. 10 Northern Illinois and No. 6 Bowling Green hosts No. 11 Miami. All games will tip-off at 7 p.m. this evening.  For more information on the 2013 FirstEnergy MAC Men's Basketball Tournament -- click here
All-MAC First Team
Zeke Marshall, C, Akron
Javon McCrea, F, Buffalo
Chris Evans, W/F, Kent State
Rian Pearson, G, Toledo
D.J. Cooper, G, Ohio
All-MAC Second Team
Demetrius "Tree" Treadwell, F, Akron
Jauwan Scaife, G, Ball State
A'uston Calhoun, F, Bowling Green
Kyle Randall, G, Central Michigan
Shayne Whittington, F/C, Western Michigan
All-MAC Third Team
Majok Majok, F, Ball State
Randal Holt, G, Kent State
Walter Offutt, G, Ohio
Reggie Keely, F, Ohio
Julius "Juice" Brown, G, Toledo
Honorable Mention
Alex Abreu, G, Akron
Jordon Crawford, G, Bowling Green
Glenn Bryant, F, Eastern Michigan
Will Felder, F, Miami
Nate Hutcheson, F, Western Michigan
MAC All-Freshman Team
Jake Kretzer, G/F, Akron
Jarryn Skeete, G, Buffalo
Chris Fowler, G, Central Michigan
Nathan Boothe, C, Toledo
Darius Paul, F, Western Michigan