Seven Programs Honored as All-Academic Teams in 2012

Updated 2/11/2013


LOUISVILLE, Kentucky – In recognition of their outstanding performances off of the diamond, the National Fastpitch Coaches Association has recognized seven Mid-American Conference softball teams for their outstanding work in the classroom.  The seven teams named to the 2011-12 NFCA Division I All-Academic Teams’ list,  all turned in team GPA’s above a 3.25 to land them in the top 55 in Division I, while Kent State, Central Michigan, Eastern Michigan and Bowling Green finished in the top 10.  
In addition, 75 student athletes from the seven MAC institutions were individually recognized as All-America Scholar Athletes by the NFCA for receiving GPA’s above 3.50 in 2012.  
See below for list of the award winners:
2011-12 NFCA Division I All-Academic Teams
3. Kent State 3.596
5. Central Michigan 3.572
9. Eastern Michigan 3.552
10. Bowling Green 3.533
29. Toledo 3.365
52. Western Michigan 3.269
53. Akron 3.266
2011-12 NFCA Division I All-America Scholar Athletes
Caitlin Ambrose
Andrea Arney
Cassie Gleisner
Olivia Hegedus
Alexandrea Helfrich
Kellie Roudabush
Hillary West
Bowling Green
Andrea Arney
Paige Berger
Courtney Cox
Shelby Fink
Hannah Fulk
Chloe Giordano
Erin Greenwalt
Paris Imholz
Emily McClelland
Jessica Odell
Rachel Preohl
Melissa West
Central Michigan
Molly Coldren
Brogan Darwin
Kara Dornbos
Ashley Gilson
Trisha Graham
Karly Hansen
Rachel Hensel
Summer Knoop
Kristen Kuhlman
Macy Merchant
Karly Hansen 
Rachel Hensel 
Summer Knoop 
Kristen Kuhlman 
Macy Merchant 
Lauren Smith 
Carolann Sexauer
Chelsea Sundberg
Raechel Zahrn
Eastern Michigan
Kathryn Blaharski
Nellie Coquillard
Sarah Gerber
Amanda Herron
Jenna Ignowski
Courtney Nicholson
Lindsey Rich
Jessica Richards
Amanda Stanton
Kent State
Jessica Blanton
Sara Chance
Maleeya Coleman
Emma Johnson
Caitlin Kilbane
Kimberly Kirkpatrick
Abbey Ledford
Lauren McNeil
Megan McCracken
Lauren Mokler
Kimberly Morgason
Allison Beery
Lani Ernst
Rebecca Heimbigner
Leigh Nebendahl
Amy Newell
Melissa Rons
Alyssa Smith
Jillian Spink
Lindsey Tobias
Western Michigan
Gracie Barstad
Tara Buchanan
Christina Pigozzi
Jennifer Rohn
Courtney Rousseau
Megan Stamm
Jennifer Tschetter
Meredith Whitney