MAC Announces 2012 Field Hockey Academic All-MAC Team

Updated 12/13/2012

CLEVELAND, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference announced its 2012 Field Hockey Academic All-MAC team Thursday, as voted on by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 16 student-athletes were named to the team.

Central Michigan highlights the Academic All-MAC list with seven student-athletes making the team. Repeat winners for the Chippewas included Erin Dye, Simone Lazar, and Anastasia Netto followed by newcomers Jordyn Brengosz, Emily Girasole, Bailey McKeon, and Skylar VanNatta. Other repeat winners were Rebecca Lee of Kent State, Sarah Mueller of Miami, Reiann Stoute of Missouri and Cathryn Altdoeffer of Ohio. 
Finalizing this year’s team are Hannah Faulkner and Sabrina Binder of Kent State, Emily Gruesser of Miami, and Caelyn Hartley and Laura Mastro of Ohio. 
The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50% of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.
2012 Academic All-MAC Field Hockey Team
Jordyn Brengosz, Central Michigan
Emily Girasole, Central Michigan 
Erin Dye, Central Michigan
Simone Lazar, Central Michigan 
Bailey McKeon, Central Michigan 
Anastasia Netto, Central Michigan
Skylar VanNatta, Central Michigan 
Sabrina Binder, Kent State
Hannah Faulkner, Kent State
Rebecca Lee, Kent State
Sarah Mueller, Miami 
Emily Gruesser, Miami
Reiann Stoute, Missouri State
Cathryn Altfoerffer, Ohio 
Caelyn Hartley, Ohio 
Laura Mastro, Ohio 
2012 Academic All-MAC Honorable Mention 
Jenna Rosenberry, Ball State 
Marisa Weachter, Ball State
Abbie Carrico, Kent State
Melanie Kahn, Kent State
Sami Surdy, Kent State 
Shannon Martin, Kent State
Kaitlin Evans, Miami 
Ali Froede,Miami
Jordan Long, Miami 
Alyssa Logan, Miami
Catrina Schmidt, Missouri State 
Laura Tavares, Missouri State
Andrea Bain, Missouri State
Chelsey Medlock, Missouri State
Katie Mulloy, Missouri State
Ashley Cureton, Ohio
Katherine Fenzel, Ohio
Jessica Vaeth, Ohio