Scott Caldwell Named Semifinalist For Hermann Trophy

Updated 12/3/2012

Scott Caldwell Trophy Central 

AKRON, Ohio – University of Akron senior Scott Caldwell was named one of 15 semifinalists for the prestigious Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Wednesday.

The Hermann Trophy is the highest individual honor in intercollegiate soccer and the official National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Player of the Year award for Division I competition. The winner will be annouced at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo., in January.
It is the fifth consecutive season the Zips have had least one player named to the Hermann Trophy semifinalist list. Teal Bunbury became the first Akron player to win the award in 2009 and Darlington Nagbe made it back-to-back winners for the Blue and Gold in 2010.
Caldwell, the 2012 Mid-American Conference Player of the Year, started all 22 matches for the Zips, who finished the regular season as the consensus No. 1-ranked team in the nation. The midfielder recorded a team-leading 10 assists on the year, which ranks him eighth individually in Division I, and a career-best nine goals, including game-winners against South Florida, West Virginia and Western Michigan. Additionally, of his 10 assists, four led to game-winning goals in 2012.
The native of Braintree, Mass., is also one of 10 finalists nationally for the Senior CLASS Award, which celebrates student-athletes who have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. Caldwell carries 3.937 cumulative GPA as an accounting major at Akron.
Visit for more information.
Steve Zakuani, who finished runner-up for the Hermann Trophy, was the first Akron player to be named to the semifinalist list in 2008. Anthony Ampaipitakwong and Teal Bunbury received the nod in 2009, Darlington Nagbe and Kofi Sarkodie followed suit in 2010 and Darren Mattocks made the cut in 2011.
Caldwell helped lead the Zips (18-1-3) to the NCAA's Round of 16 for the fifth consecutive season in 2012.
For the first time this year, fans can log-on to pick their Hermann Trophy winner in an on-line promotion. Visit to cast your vote.
Courtesy of Akron Sports Information Department