Eastern Michigan Claims 17th Men's Championship Title

Updated 10/27/2012


2012 Men's Cross Country Team Results

2012 Men's Cross Country Individual Results

2012 Championship Photo Gallery

Grand Island, N.Y.  - Eastern Michigan claimed its 17th Men's Championship title in school history as MAC teams fought it out at the 2012 MAC Cross Championships at Beaver Island State Park in Grand Island, N.Y. 

Eastern Michigan's Terefe Ejigu claimed the men's individual title in a time of 24:44.5 and claimed his MAC second title after winning in 2010. Teammate Daryl Smith finished in second place with a time of 24:47.8, while Kent State's Michael Heller took home third place with a time of 24:50.0
Eastern Michigan scored a total of 59 points, while Central Michigan came in second with 72 points. Miami and Akron finished in a tie for third place (73 points), while Buffalo followed in fifth place (105 points). Kent State (sixth, 164 points), Ohio (seventh, 176 points), Toledo (eighth, 186 points) and Bowling Green (ninth, 277 points) rounded out the field. 
Eastern Michigan's John Goodridge was named the MAC Men's Coach of the Year for the third consecutive season and the eighth time in his career. The honor was selected by the leagues head coaches following the race.

The Eagles will continue their season in two weeks when they travel to Madison, Wisconsin for the 2012 NCAA Great Lakes Regional on November 9.
2012 MAC Men's Cross Country All-MAC First Team
Terefe Ejigu, Eastern Michigan
Daryl Smith, Eastern Michigan
Michael Heller, Kent State
Stephen Kiplagat, Miami
Kyle Stacks, Central Michigan
Mike Pressler, Buffalo
Brad Hough, Akron
2012 MAC Men's Cross Country All-MAC Second Team
Jarrod Eick, Miami
Zachary Ahart, Buffalo
David Wing, Miami
Harry Dixon, Eastern Michigan
Ethan Lievense, Central Michigan
Jason Drudge, Central Michigan
Zach Krause, Buffalo

2012 MAC Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year
John Goodridge, Eastern Michigan