Caldwell Named to Hermann Trophy Watch List

Updated 8/13/2012

Courtesy of Akron Sports Information 

AKRON, Ohio – Scott Caldwell, a senior midfielder from The University of Akron men's soccer team, has been named to the Hermann Trophy Watch List, the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) announced Monday.
The Missouri Athletic Club's Herman Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer and the official NSCAA Player of the Year award for Division I competition.
It is the fourth straight year at least one Akron player has been named to the prestigious watch list. Teal Bunbury became the first Zip to win the award in 2009 and Darlington Nagbe made it back-to-back winners by earning the honor in 2010. Darren Mattocks, who like Bunbury and Nagbe, has since made the jump to Major League Soccer, was a semifinalist in 2011.
NSCAA members from Division I programs will narrow the list down to 15 semifinalists by November 29. Member coaches and fans will then vote for their top three choices with the finalists being announced on December 6. The 2012 Hermann Trophy winner will be announced at the NSCAA awards' banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, Jan. 11.
Caldwell, who netted the game-winning goal in the NCAA national championship game in 2010, followed up his heroic sophomore campaign with a breakout season in 2011. The team captain was named to the NSCAA All-America First Team after enjoying career highs for goals (6) and assists (11) while starting all 23 games at midfield.
In all, the native of Braintree, Mass., netted two game-winning goals last fall, including a golden goal at Cal State Northridge and the decisive strike against Cal Poly at FirstEnergy Stadium – Cub Cadet Field. Caldwell, who was also named to the Academic All-America Second Team, is one of four team captains – along with Chad Barson, Bryan Gallego and Wil Trapp – on the Zips in 2012.
UA, which will begin the year season ranked 10th in the NSCAA national poll, opens up exhibition play this week with a pair of home matches against Saint Louis (Wed.) and Wright State (Fri.). Both ticketed exhibitions will begin at 7:30 p.m. at FirstEnergy Stadium – Cub Cadet Field.
Fans can purchase tickets online anytime at, or from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. ET on Mondays through Fridays by either calling 888-99-AKRON (25766) or visiting The C.P. and Cornelia S. Chima Athletics Ticket Office at InfoCision Stadium – Summa Field (located at 375 E. Exchange Street, near Gate 1 at the southwest corner of the venue, at the corner of E. Exchange and S. Union streets).
Tickets start at $10 for General Admission, while Reserved Seats in the west bleachers are $15. The Single-Game Family Plan is $30 (General Admission seating). UA students with valid ID will be admitted free of charge.
The 2012 season officially begins on Aug. 24 at home against Florida Gulf Coast at 7:30 p.m.
2012 Hermann Trophy Watch List
Sammy Adjei, Jr., F, Iona
Carlos Alvarez, Sr., M, Connecticut
Borja Barbero, So., GK, Iona
Will Bates, Sr., F, Virginia
Nathaniel Bekoe, Jr., M, Fordham
Ashton Bennett, Sr., F, Coastal Carolina
Andrew Blake, So., GK, Connecticut
Brendon Burgdorf, Sr., F, Bucknell
Scott Caldwell, Sr., M, Akron
Franklin Castellanos, Jr., M, Iona
Marvcello Castro, Sr., D, Sacred Heart
Marc Cintron, Sr., M, Providence
Ryan Clark, Sr., M, Monmouth
Liam Collins, Jr., M, Memphis
Leonardo Fernandes, Sr., M, Stony Brook
Shaun Foster, Jr., D, Hofstra
Victor Francoz, Sr., GK, Old Dominion
Tyler Gibson, Jr., M, Charlotte
Simon Gomez, Jr., F, Dusquesne
Nick Hagglund, Jr., D, Xavier
Chris Hegngi, Sr., F, Ohio State
Coleton Henning, Sr., M, Furman
Taylor Kemp, Sr., D, Maryland
Jonathan Mendoza, Sr., M, Stetson
Steve Neumann, Jr., F, Georgetown
Oscar Otto, Sr., F, Iona
James Price, Sr., D, Saint Francis (Pa.)
Jonny Raj, Sr., D, Fairfield
Pedro Ribeiro, Jr., M, Coastal Carolina
Devon Sandoval, Sr., F, New Mexico
Eric Schoenle, Sr., D, West Virginia
Mark Sherrod, Jr., F, Memphis
Patrick Slogic, Jr., D, Cornell
Yannick Smith, Sr., F, Old Dominion
John Stertzer, Sr., M, Maryland
Kyle Venter, Sr., D, New Mexico
Lee Williams, Sr., D, Appalachian State
Reece Wilson, Sr., F, Central Connecticut
Paul Wyatt, Sr., M, James Madison
Gyasi Zardes, Jr., F, CSU Bakersfield
Eriq Zaveleta, So., F, Indiana
Walker Zimmerman, So., D, Furman