Kent State's Corey Conners Named To PING All-America Team

Updated 6/27/2012
Courtesy of Kent State Sports Information

NORMAN, Okla. --
 The men’s golf 2012 PING All-America Teams were released on Wednesday (June 20) morning and for the fifth consecutive year Kent State is represented as sophomore Corey Conners (Listowel, Ontario) earned an Honorable Mention distinction for his play this season in an official announcement made by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

Conners becomes just the fourth sophomore in school history to earn All-America status following one of the finest seasons ever by a Kent State golfer.  In 12 events for the Golden Flashes this hear he posted a 71.74 scoring average which stands as the third best single season average in school history behind only Ben Curtis (2000) and Jon Mills (2000).

The 2012 MAC Championship medalist, he was also tagged the MAC Golfer of the Year.  At the NCAA Championship he had the best individual performance ever by a Golden Flashes tying for 4th in the nation with a one-under 212 (68-75-69).  He ended the year with a .867 finish percentage and a No. 48 nationally ranking. 

A mathematics major with a 3.42 GPA Conners is just as successful in the classroom and was one of only seven named to the Academic All-MAC team this spring.  

Conners joins Eric Frishette (1992), Ben Curtis (1998) and John Hahn (2009) as the only Kent State players to be named all-america during their sophomore seasons.  

Kent State has now had 24 All-America selections in school history, including 22 which have come under the watch of Director of Golf/Head Coach Herb Page. This marks the fifth consecutive year in which the Golden Flashes have had an All-America honoree (David Markle, 2008, Hahn, 2009, 2010, 2011).

Kent State All-Americans
Corey Conners - 2012 Honorable Mention
John Hahn - 2011 Honorable Mention, 2010 Honorable Mention, 2009 Honorable Mention
David Markle - 2008 Honorable Mention
Jon Mills - 2001 First Team, 2000 Third Team
Ben Curtis - 2000 Second Team, 1999 Second Team, 1998 Honorable Mention
Donnie Darr - 1995 Third Team
Bryan DeCorso - 1995 Honorable Mention
Kevin Kraft - 1994 Honorable Mention
Eric Frishette - 1994 Second Team, 1993 Honorable Mention, 1992 Honorable Mention
Brian Bridges - 1991 Third Team, 1990 Honorable Mention
Dave Morland - 1991 Honorable Mention, 1990 Honorable Mention
Karl Zoller - 1985 Honorable Mention
Tom Jereb - 1984 Honorable Mention
Ned Weaver - 1977 Honorable Mention
Mike Morrow - 1973 Honorable Mention